Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-29-2009, 12:18 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Western Arkansas
Posts: 323
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Federal Pacific stab-lock circuit breaker


I know the reputation of FPE here and everyone is going to want me to replace this panel and someday I will. What I have is this panel on the outside of my house. Top half feeds a newer circuit breaker panel just behind it and the bottom portion feeds a detached garage. I need to add a 40 amp circuit in place of an existing 30 amp that is currently not used (second from the bottom). I can find used fuse blocks/holders but was wondering if this FPE "stab-lock" circuit breaker would fit in this panel. The breakers are much cheaper than than the fuse blocks used. Pictures show my panel and front/back views of the circuit breaker in question. Anyone know. Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Federal Pacific stab-lock circuit breaker-outside-opened.jpg   Federal Pacific stab-lock circuit breaker-fpe-front.jpg   Federal Pacific stab-lock circuit breaker-fpe-back.jpg  

Mike in Arkansas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 12:24 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,695
Rewards Points: 2,188
Default

Federal Pacific stab-lock circuit breaker


Look in the panel label for a list of acceptable breakers that can be used in the panel. If your breaker is on the list you are good to install it. If it is not on the list be prepared for a hefty price for the correct breaker.

Like you already know you will not find many fans of FPE panels.

Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 12:52 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Federal Pacific stab-lock circuit breaker


You can tell simply by looking at it that the busing will not accept that breaker.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 01:18 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Western Arkansas
Posts: 323
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Federal Pacific stab-lock circuit breaker


Thanks
Mike in Arkansas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 09:07 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Federal Pacific stab-lock circuit breaker


Typical old style split-bus panel there. Look carefully at the exposed bus bar section in the middle, and you can plainly see a gap separating the top half from the bottom.

While there were not any UL issues associated with the FPE fuse panels, it is still a fuse box and as such may be considered obsolete.

Many insurance companies are now surcharging policy holders who have such equipment in their houses, due to the ease of using the wrong sized fuse when replacing a blown one.

The other issue with these is one of safety: Replacing a fuse can expose one to live "hot" connections and one slip up can be lethal.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Federal pionner vs federal pacific Red Squirrel Electrical 2 08-30-2009 10:40 AM
Federal Pacific Breaker Ouch That Hurt Electrical 6 05-03-2009 02:05 AM
loose circuit breaker justorr Electrical 5 11-28-2008 03:14 PM
Circuit breaker keep retripping Gregg Electrical 4 02-18-2006 05:11 AM
New homeowner here...circuit breaker question fenway71 Electrical 7 01-18-2006 08:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.