Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-08-2011, 01:18 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Faulty Circuit


The circuit to one of our bedrooms is not receiving any power. I have already troubleshot this in the following ways:
1. Breaker has been checked and is working properly
2. I pulled the neutral wire from the bar for this circuit - cleaned and replaced it.
3. I pulled and checked every receptical in the bedroom and any that may possibly be feeding the bedroom - no power
4. I checked all GFI recepticals and all are working
5. I turned bedroom breaker off and checked to see if any other nearby outlets were on this circuit - no luck!

It should be noted that each of the above were double and triple checked - I'm hoping to receive an idea I may have overlooked - it's driving me crazy!

I'm at a loss - any suggestions where I might go from here would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Mike


Last edited by MCalandra; 09-08-2011 at 09:37 PM.
MCalandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 01:35 PM   #2
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Default

Faulty Circuit


Hello Mike and welcome the best darn DIY'r site on the web.

Did you check to see if you had power right at the breaker?

If you do have power there then you must have an open circuit somewhere between the breaker the recepticles.

If you don't have power at the breaker then your breaker needs to replaced.

Mark

__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 01:36 PM   #3
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Faulty Circuit


Did you use a meter and verify voltage?

Any back stabbed receptacles or bad connections? Easy to miss one.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 01:37 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 288
Default

Faulty Circuit


How was the breaker checked and proven to be working properly?
Find the first junction box in the circuit: is there power there?
michaelcherr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 09:22 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Faulty Circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackofall1 View Post
Hello Mike and welcome the best darn DIY'r site on the web.

Did you check to see if you had power right at the breaker?

If you do have power there then you must have an open circuit somewhere between the breaker the recepticles.

If you don't have power at the breaker then your breaker needs to replaced.

Mark
Hello Mark
I do have power at the breaker and also switched the power lead to another working breaker just to be sure.
I've checked and rechecked every receptical on the circuit and not a one shows any sign of power.
MCalandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 09:29 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Faulty Circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
Did you use a meter and verify voltage?

Any back stabbed receptacles or bad connections? Easy to miss one.
If I have no power how can I verify voltage?
MCalandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 11:18 PM   #7
Member
 
Thadius856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 921
Default

Faulty Circuit


It's a silly question, but did the circuit previously have power? You didn't specify whether it has ever worked or not.

If you have a non-contact voltage detector, you might have some luck tracing its path away from the panel. A cable toner would be ideal for locating the problem.

I wouldn't leave the breaker on when not testing, as you may have a break somewhere you can't see it. I personally found a cut, live piece of romex laying in a pile of attic insulation.
Thadius856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 12:28 PM   #8
011010100110111101100101
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 244
Default

Faulty Circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by MCalandra View Post
If I have no power how can I verify voltage?
I've broken the hot leg under a wire nut a few times. Circuit didn't power a 110v device, but would show very very small voltage with a meter.

The way I learned to twist conductors under wire nuts in the mid '90s seems to be destroying 12awg NM-B these days...

This is pretty straight forward to troubleshoot. But you need to figure out if your grounded (neutral) or hot is dead. A meter, and knowing the cable route will help.

-- Joe
anesthes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 12:30 PM   #9
011010100110111101100101
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 244
Default

Faulty Circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Thadius856 View Post
I personally found a cut, live piece of romex laying in a pile of attic insulation.
Found one in a roof soffit two weeks ago. beep beep beep ARGH!!!!

-- Joe

anesthes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
open circuit unknown location / voltage leakage fishmanflats Electrical 4 12-23-2009 09:04 PM
Changing a 3 way circuit...using recessed lighting box as a junction box? Oxymoron Electrical 1 12-07-2009 06:46 PM
Two Different Wire gages on Same Circuit OK? Lovegasoline Electrical 5 12-02-2009 05:00 PM
Circuit out but circuit breaker didn't trip PaulenAndrew Electrical 17 08-16-2008 08:38 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.