Faulty 3-Way Switch - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2008, 11:19 AM   #1
prc
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Faulty 3-Way Switch


The 3-way switches for my kitchen lights are not working properly. My house is 10 years old and they have worked fine until the last couple of days. Now, sometimes when you use one of the switches to turn the lights on, they don't go on. You need to flick the switch off and on to get them to work. This has happened several times, with both switches. Does this mean that one of the 3-way switches is faulty? If so, how do I tell which one?

Thanks.

Advertisement

prc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 12:03 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Faulty 3-Way Switch


Replace both of them. This saves you the guessing game.
1 trip to the store, both switches in hand.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 12:17 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Faulty 3-Way Switch


What he said ^



AND.....label the "common" wire and put it on the correct terminal so you are not back here tomorrow with a "How do I wire a 3way switch" post.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 04:20 PM   #4
prc
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Faulty 3-Way Switch


Thanks -- I'll replace both of them.
prc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 04:50 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,377
Rewards Points: 3,548
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Faulty 3-Way Switch


Replace one switch then test it. It is easier to troubleshoot one switch then two.
Make sure identify the common wire. Don't move the wires base on postion. Upper right on one brand of switch will be the same as upper right on a different brand.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 04:58 PM   #6
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Faulty 3-Way Switch


What 220 and JB said.
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 06:58 PM   #7
prc
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Faulty 3-Way Switch


Thanks -- I was planning on doing that.

Advertisement

prc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring double switch for new ceiling fan toolmanwannabe Electrical 17 11-15-2011 10:34 PM
changing a fixture to an outlet - keeping the switch aweshucks Electrical 4 12-27-2007 06:06 PM
3 way switch help imintrouble Electrical 8 12-13-2007 03:54 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 02:19 AM
Detached garage adding a 3 way switch. Slatherd Electrical 4 01-02-2006 03:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts