Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-02-2010, 02:28 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

fan timer on a switch loop


Hello all I am new here. I am trying to install a fan timer for the bathroom, but all 4 switches in the box are all wired on switch loops. the attic is above the room so i am able to crawl up there, but I am curious as to the best way to wire it in this situation. I have not been able to find out information on wiring a timer when a switch loop is used. Any advice would be much apreciated.

Thanks

someguy86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 03:26 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,787
Default

fan timer on a switch loop


A mechanical(springwound) timer will work just fine. Electronic timers may require a neutral but I think there are some that do not.


Last edited by brric; 08-02-2010 at 03:33 PM.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 07:28 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Default

fan timer on a switch loop


Yeah, it would be nice if i was allowed to do that, but i'm not I guess ill have to run the feed to the new switch and then to the fan, I was hoping for an easier fix. Thank you for the idea thow!
someguy86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 08:05 PM   #4
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 762
Default

fan timer on a switch loop


There are definitely some electronic timers that don't need a neutral, and thus can work on a switchloop. I don't have a link handy, but try a google search for "digital timer no neutral"
McSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Add new light and switch to a switch loop UncertainSparky Electrical 4 01-24-2010 08:58 AM
Help with 3 way switch loop wylde8 Electrical 7 12-17-2009 05:53 PM
Switch loop detached garage jamiedolan Electrical 2 02-10-2009 07:24 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM
switch loop aokss Electrical 13 05-07-2007 08:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.