Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-06-2013, 06:27 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 32
Share |
Default

Fan/Light Switch Question


Is the below image correct? I want a double switch (picture below) to control a fan and a light separately. The only part I think im worried about is the pigtail from the panel to the two power sources.
Attached Thumbnails
Fan/Light Switch Question-room-wire.jpg  
biddlecom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 06:41 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,472
Default

Fan/Light Switch Question


One side of the switch should have a bridge between the 2 screws on one side, and you shouldn't have to use a pigtail.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 06:45 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 32
Default

Fan/Light Switch Question


So if that bridge does exist then a pigtail isn't required. Say the bridge didn't exist then would a pigtail have to be used there?
biddlecom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 06:51 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,472
Default

Fan/Light Switch Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by biddlecom View Post
So if that bridge does exist then a pigtail isn't required. Say the bridge didn't exist then would a pigtail have to be used there?
Correct, but a bridge will exist.
I've never seen one without it.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 07:42 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 32
Default

Fan/Light Switch Question


Thank you
biddlecom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 Way Switch Question -Please help cbagnas Electrical 51 06-14-2013 05:32 PM
Exhaust fan/light from single switch to dual: HELP ryowens Electrical 5 01-20-2013 10:21 PM
Changing A Double Switch to a single pole switch and a dimmer switch loydbrahn Electrical 0 11-08-2011 11:00 PM
can switch work for two different outlets? jlmran Electrical 8 02-10-2011 12:31 PM
Another 3-way switch question. perpetual98 Electrical 10 07-21-2009 11:16 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.