Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-04-2010, 12:17 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Fan and Light on 14/2 Wire


Need some help wiring a ceiling fan with light fixture to two switches; dimmer for light and on/off switch for fan.

I have a 14/2 wire (Black, White & Ground) coming from the ceiling and a Black, White, BLUE and Ground from the fan. How do I install the fan and Light so that i can control light with one switch and fan with the other?

THanks for your help.

Train is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2010, 12:57 AM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Fan and Light on 14/2 Wire


Quote:
I have a 14/2 wire (Black, White & Ground) coming from the ceiling
do you mean coming from the ceiling to the switch?

You don't have enough wires from the switch to the light. You need a switch leg for the fan and a switch leg for the light. If the hot from from the panel feeds to the switch box, you also need a neutral along with those two switch legs. If the hot from the panel feeds to the fixture mounting box, you need another conductor to carry the hot from the fan box to the switch box.

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2010, 06:50 AM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,801
Default

Fan and Light on 14/2 Wire


Sorry, it can't be done.
Exactly what Nap said. You need a "3-wire" from the switch to the fan.

This is pretty typical in newer homes. I haven't run a 2-wire to a ceiling box in years.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2010, 07:25 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,238
Default

Fan and Light on 14/2 Wire


You can get a remote fan kit which will do this.Fits in fan canopy with remote control.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2010, 08:40 AM   #5
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

Fan and Light on 14/2 Wire


http://www.homedepot.com/Electrical-...atalogId=10053

That will let you do what you want with only two wires. It's a wired-in switch with a fan canopy module. I installed a new fan for my brother...we ran 3-wire cable and only ended up needing 2 wires.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2010, 08:56 AM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,801
Default

Fan and Light on 14/2 Wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
http://www.homedepot.com/Electrical-...atalogId=10053

That will let you do what you want with only two wires. It's a wired-in switch with a fan canopy module.
You guys are right, I should have suggested this.


Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
I installed a new fan for my brother...we ran 3-wire cable and only ended up needing 2 wires.
This happens a lot. So many fans come with these things included these days.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2010, 10:06 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Fan and Light on 14/2 Wire


I always run a 3-wire feed to an overhead fan
May not need it, wife only wants a fan in the sunroom - no light kit
But its better to have it & not need it then need it & not have it

At present the fan in the sunroom (Temp) has a fan & a light
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2010, 05:22 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Fan and Light on 14/2 Wire


Great - thanks for the replies. My home was constructed in 1980 so we have 14/2 throughout. However, in another room i did have an electrician move and rewire a fan and it seems he just ran another "2" wire and connected one to light and one to fan then bundled it together at the switch house; again one switch for light and one for fan....

It seems my best option is to run a "3" wire from switch box to fan housing - i live in arizona and it is hot at you know it...may have to be a predawn activity...

Thanks again.

Train
Train is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2010, 11:50 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Fan and Light on 14/2 Wire


Hello All -
I purchased a remote fan kit and wired up per instructions; it's pretty straightforward.

I'm having some difficulties wiring up the switches in the housing. here's what i tried.

Black from Power Source to top screw of fan switch
Black from fan switch to black of Light Dimmer
Red from Light Dimmer to bottom screw of fan switch

What am i doing wrong?

Thanks again.
Train
Train is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2010, 11:54 PM   #10
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Fan and Light on 14/2 Wire


I would have to see the wiring diagram but offhand, what I see is you are taking a controlled wire (dimmed) from the dimmer and using it on the fan.

You are going to need a hot and a neutral most likely.

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.