Fan Forced Wall Heater - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-26-2009, 11:27 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

fan forced wall heater


Hello, I would like to know about wiring a dimplex rdh series 2000w 240v wall heater. Can I hook up two heaters to one source of 220 wiring?

Advertisement

wire girl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 01:53 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

fan forced wall heater


Yup you can wire them together. 4000/240=16.6A.

In Canada you can wire to the calculation, which would be #12 wires. According to our codes we have to bump for the breaker which would make it a 30A breaker. The USA is probably differnet, but someone should chime in and say how they do it in the USA.

It depends on how your thermostats are hooked up, if they are built in you have to take a feed to the first heater, and then a feed from the first heater to the second heater.

If the stats are wall mounted there are numerous ways to do it depending on the layout of everything and which way will use the least amount of wire.

Advertisement

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 05:51 PM   #3
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,632
Rewards Points: 1,058
Default

fan forced wall heater


4000 watts at 240 volts = 16.6 amps. This is technically a code violation. It is done around here on a very regular basis though. There is no hazard involved, just a technical violation.

I've connected plenty of 4000 W loads to 20 amp breakers, had them inspected, and all have passed. Only an inspector with a '10 pound badge' would fail this installation.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 07:25 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

fan forced wall heater


And each heater may only need #14 wire 'cause it only carries 8.3A,
HT#1 ----AC-----HT#2

unless you daisy chain the heaters.

AC---HT#1----HT#2

Last edited by Yoyizit; 09-26-2009 at 07:28 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 07:58 PM   #5
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,632
Rewards Points: 1,058
Default

fan forced wall heater


Codewise, about the only time smaller wire is allowed is with motors, A/C units, and welders.

I realize that the load is smaller, and #14 would hold up just fine for the next several hundred years, but I'd use #12.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 09:01 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

fan forced wall heater


Quote:
Originally Posted by micromind View Post
Codewise, about the only time smaller wire is allowed is with motors, A/C units, and welders.

I realize that the load is smaller, and #14 would hold up just fine for the next several hundred years, but I'd use #12.

Rob
One of these days I'm goin' to have read up on this new-fangled "code" thing everybody talks about. . .
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2009, 06:02 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

fan forced wall heater


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
And each heater may only need #14 wire 'cause it only carries 8.3A,
HT#1 ----AC-----HT#2

unless you daisy chain the heaters.

AC---HT#1----HT#2
With a 20a breaker you are saying to use #14 wire???
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2009, 06:15 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

fan forced wall heater


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
With a 20a breaker you are saying to use #14 wire???
You're right, that's wrong.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2009, 07:57 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

fan forced wall heater


The NEC requires that conductors supplying fixed electric space heating equipment be rated 125% of total load. So 16.4 amps x 1.25= 20.75 amp. Need # 10 conductors.
007brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2009, 11:18 PM   #10
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,632
Rewards Points: 1,058
Default

fan forced wall heater


True enough, but as I stated earlier, I don't know how many times I've connected 4000 watts to a 20 amp 240 volt circuit, had it inspected, and passed. I think very few inspectors are nit-picky enough to fail this installation.

There are code violations that are simply too technical to go after. Most inspectors know this, and are reasonable with minor items.

Rob

P.S. If you want to get ultra-technical, there are two heaters. Each heater draws 8.3 amps. 220.5 (B) states "Where calculations result in a fraction of an ampere that is less than 0.5, such fractions shall be permitted to be dropped."

Therefore, the result of the calculation is exactly 16.0 amps. 16 X 125% = 20. A 20 amp breaker is indeed compliant.

Last edited by micromind; 09-27-2009 at 11:25 PM. Reason: Added P.S.
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 07:58 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

fan forced wall heater


Any 20 amp stab in circuit breaker is rated at 80%. A 20 amp breaker will trip at around 16 amp. It is not only not compliant, it won't work. Regarding dropping the .5, when you do the calculations and the load is 20.75, you cannot drop anything, .75 larger than .50. In other words,if the total branch circuit load is 20.5, the .5 can be dropped. On a practical note, no professional electrician would suggest or install this with #12 wire. I don't believe in " it works so it must be right". We go by the NEC which, in our trade, is adopted as a legal document. I cannot tell you the number of times DYI'S have done non-complaint installations and created problems. I prefer not to be part of it.

Last edited by 007brian; 09-28-2009 at 08:12 AM.
007brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 08:04 AM   #12
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,545
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

fan forced wall heater


Quote:
Originally Posted by 007brian View Post
Any 20 amp stab in circuit breaker are rated at 80%. A 20 amp breaker will trip at around 16 amp.
Not true. A 20A breaker will carry 20A for quite awhile without tripping.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 09:12 AM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,955
Rewards Points: 2,306
Default

fan forced wall heater


Quote:
Originally Posted by HouseHelper View Post
Not true. A 20A breaker will carry 20A for quite awhile without tripping.
Agreed!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 09:25 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

fan forced wall heater


I had a job inspected and I had 18 amps on a 20 amp breaker. Inspector turned it down. I fought but lost. Asked Cutler Hammer Rep and he told me all stab in c/b's are only rated at 80%. That's what the inspector giged me on. That's where this thought comes from. Brian
007brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 09:38 AM   #15
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,632
Rewards Points: 1,058
Default

fan forced wall heater


According to the trip curves in my Square D book, a QO120 (20 amp single pole) will carry between 100 and 120% of its rated current for more than 300 seconds (5 minutes). Anything over 300 seconds is considered continuous.

Nowhere do I see any breaker that will trip at less than its rated current.

If a 20 amp breaker and #12s will not work, and considering how many I've installed, where's all my call-backs? Don't you think there'd be at least one?

In over 19 years, there have been zero.

All code is written based on past experience, and local jurisdictions are allowed to ammend it, again based on experience. The obvious experience of the inspectors around here is that 4000 watts on a 20 amp breaker using #12s does not constitute a hazard.

If 220.5 (B) is applied to the load calculations, then this installation is indeed compliant. 8.3 becomes 8.0. 8.0 X 2 = 16.0.

Rob

Advertisement

micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Removing a 4 foot opening in a load bearing wall (for fish tank) ~callie~ Building & Construction 1 07-15-2009 06:10 PM
Breaking up a long/continuous wall tigereye Interior Decorating 4 03-08-2009 04:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts