Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-01-2011, 09:27 PM   #16
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Share |
Default

Fake Double Pole Breaker in Pushmatic


johnk88.,

Jame did cover that part very clear on few basic items however let me expand this part little more due you are in Philly area and I have couple electrician I know them in diffrent fourm and that city is somehow very flinky with electrical code with service entrance so I am very seriously make sure those electrician are qualifed with current license.

If you are not sure you can PM me I can able get a hold couple philly electricians to check it out to make sure they are legit.

For 200 amp service in your area I don't really recall see anyone lowball it on price wise so with legit guys expect 1800+ { one warning here the price will vares a bit }

Any service upgrading many legit electricians will get proper permit and cornatied with POCO to make sure everything go smooth plus it will be inspected of course.

Merci.
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 10:22 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 7
Default

Fake Double Pole Breaker in Pushmatic


I have at least two different local electricians who have been recommended to me by friends/family. Theses guys are licensed and I'll make sure that whoever does the job pulls a permit. My biggest obstacle has been convincing the girlfriend that it needs to be done. I have to be respectful of her opinion because after all, it is her house.

In addition to the aforementioned problems with the old Pushmatic panel, the service cable from the masthead down is in bad shape; the exterior insulation is frayed and it looks especially bad at the point where it enters the house through the masonry wall. It is not in conduit because conduit is usually not required by the City of Philadelphia for residential applications, but I think I would like the new installation to be in metal conduit/raceway. Also the meter is in the basement (this is common in older Philly row houses) and the meter pan is aluminum, which no longer meets code. So we really need everything replaced sooner rather than later, and I want to get the meter moved to the outside wall.

Last edited by johnk88; 03-01-2011 at 10:29 PM. Reason: clarification
johnk88 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to johnk88 For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (03-01-2011)
Old 03-01-2011, 10:37 PM   #18
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Fake Double Pole Breaker in Pushmatic


Fair enough John.,

But really I wish your lady understand the nature of service entrance cable if they are bad shape it will be wise to do it now {ASAP when the money permits } due the Service entrance cable typically unfused so once they start flashover they will do some crazy damage to the cable and the building which I have see it quite few time.

Merci.
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 Single Poles to 1 Double GFCI Breaker nuckphoto Electrical 24 11-10-2010 11:40 PM
install 60 amp double breaker with 6/2 romex darthyogi Electrical 5 10-04-2010 05:36 AM
Single breaker vs double pole breaker for MAIN tuckerz Electrical 11 11-16-2009 06:42 PM
single vs. double breaker Neil_K Electrical 3 11-14-2004 11:02 PM
2 pole breaker Unregistered Electrical 3 09-11-2004 11:15 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.