Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-08-2010, 04:04 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 319
Share |
Default

extra wire in remodel recess cans


The recess cans come with the poke in thingy instead of the wirenut
Does it support up to 3 extra wires (4 total)?

In my configuration I wanted one in from the switch and 2 exiting to power my 2 wall sconces because too hard to run from sconce to sconce

Also those NM clamps for 1/2" knock out is it ok to put 3 pairs of 14/2 NM through it? If it would even fit?

DIYGST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 04:29 PM   #2
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Default

extra wire in remodel recess cans


Quote:
Originally Posted by DIYGST View Post
The recess cans come with the poke in thingy instead of the wirenut
Does it support up to 3 extra wires (4 total)?

In my configuration I wanted one in from the switch and 2 exiting to power my 2 wall sconces because too hard to run from sconce to sconce

Also those NM clamps for 1/2" knock out is it ok to put 3 pairs of 14/2 NM through it? If it would even fit?
One brand is called a WAGO connector. It takes the place of a wirenut, since the box on the can is a listed j-box you can make splices in it using all the available open holes in the connector.

It looks similar to the attached?
Attached Images
 

codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 04:33 PM   #3
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Default

extra wire in remodel recess cans


Quote:
Originally Posted by DIYGST View Post
Also those NM clamps for 1/2" knock out is it ok to put 3 pairs of 14/2 NM through it? If it would even fit?
The connectors you use make a differance usually they are rated for only 2 wires per connector. there should be more than 1 opening on the j-box for connectors.
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 04:40 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 319
Default

extra wire in remodel recess cans


That's the connector. Reason I ask about the clamps is because I only bought one, looks like I need to buy another and knock another out.
DIYGST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 04:45 PM   #5
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Default

extra wire in remodel recess cans


Quote:
Originally Posted by DIYGST View Post
That's the connector. Reason I ask about the clamps is because I only bought one, looks like I need to buy another and knock another out.
Yes you need another connector then you would be ok. Now some halo cans come with a place for NM(romex) to go in without a connector. Ill see if I can find a Picture.
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 04:50 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 319
Default

extra wire in remodel recess cans


I see those clip things I think, but I don't know how to use it.
Are they just as good?

I thought it was plastic, not sure.

My can is a halo 4" remodel non IC.
DIYGST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 04:52 PM   #7
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Default

extra wire in remodel recess cans


Does it look like a black plastic slot?
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 04:57 PM   #8
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Default

extra wire in remodel recess cans


Does it look similar to this? At least the black plastic piece.
Attached Thumbnails
extra wire in remodel recess cans-halo-20h36rtat-20-20-20housing.jpg  
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 05:11 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 319
Default

extra wire in remodel recess cans


it has got the square plastic clamp near the knock out but not the thing sticking out to the right
DIYGST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 05:16 PM   #10
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Default

extra wire in remodel recess cans


Yes that is an NM cable connector you just have to figure out how to use it. Its a new style Im not familuar with.
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 05:20 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 319
Default

extra wire in remodel recess cans


or a 89 cent NM clamp that I know how to use
DIYGST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 05:34 PM   #12
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Default

extra wire in remodel recess cans


Go get em! Youve got the right idea. Do whats easy for you.

codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Decommissioning old armored wire circuit toddmanqa Electrical 6 12-04-2009 08:55 AM
2 Wire Thermostat question vtec69 Electrical 19 10-19-2009 05:14 PM
How do I wire these switches? keano016 Electrical 2 10-07-2009 10:19 AM
Outlet With Swith and Older (White, Black, Red) Wire CaptChaos Electrical 18 09-14-2009 11:17 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.