Exterior Lighting - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-26-2010, 03:56 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Exterior Lighting


I pulled down my old exterior home lights and put a multimeter on them, I find I have 30 volts AC. I was expecting either no voltage or around 120. I do not appear to have any switches for the lights, they did come with motion detector initially. why do I have 30 volts?

Advertisement

david.pfeifer73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 04:02 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Exterior Lighting


could be what many call "phantom" or "ghost" voltage.

It is the result of induced voltage and while real, it does not have enough current to be of concern.

that is one of the problems with digital meters.

of course, there are always other possibilities but the phantom voltage is the most likely.

if you have a very low wattage lamp (bulb) you could put in circuit, it would help diagnose. If it does not light or the voltage actually disappears, then it is simply phantom voltage.

Advertisement

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts