Extenstion Cord - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2007, 07:11 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Levittown, Pa.
Posts: 534
Rewards Points: 528
Default

Extenstion Cord


Jwhite,
Would you tell me if pvc is acceptable for outside work or is metal conduit required?
When running wires underground, is either required?
How does a electrician, after drilling through a concrete slab, manage to fish and run wire with or without conduit underground to a spot 7-1/2 feet away and come up through the soil?
Having this information will let me know which contractor to hire to do this job. I live in Philadelphia, Pa if that means anything.

Advertisement

rjordan392 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 10:43 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Extenstion Cord


One may use PVC, Rigid metal, intermediate metal, or Emt underground by code. I reccomend either PVC or a direct burial cable UF.

One does not fish wires underground. One digs a ditch.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 10:59 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 276
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Extenstion Cord


I really don't see a problem with the extention cord. As long as it's rated for outdoor use.

Also, no one mentioned a GFCI circuit breaker. That's what I use for my exterior outlets.
Jeekinz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 11:53 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Levittown, Pa.
Posts: 534
Rewards Points: 528
Default

Extenstion Cord


Jwhite
<One does not fish wires underground>

Then how would an electrician be able to install another GFCI at the pump location if my concrete patio extends from my wall out to 7-1/2 feet to the garden. (I hope you don't suggest that the Concrete has to be cut or broken)
Am I to assume that the only and correct way to do this is to run emt from the first GFCI parallel along my front wall and then down to the concrete patio and then 90 degree it direct to the garden area. The emt at the 90 degree fitting will be laying on the concrete, along the neighbors fence.
If he ever decided to remove his fence, then a tripping hazard would be created and I would have to take it all down.
The type of hobby pump that I am using, has a cord simular to the extension cord. So my next assumption is that no part of this cord would be allowed to touch the ground if one were to follow the code as stated for extension cords.
rjordan392 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 12:03 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Extenstion Cord


First I would not use EMT. It is allowed by code, if used with the proper fittings, but would not last long in most installations.

I would use either PVC or direct bury cable.

Second, yes I am saying that the only proper way to do this is to cut the concrete and patch when done, and dig a ditch to put the conduit/cable in.

There is no need to go all the way back to the panel. You can start at the existing GFI, and extend the circuit from there.

I do not understand why you are concerned about a possible tripping hazzard under some remote "what if" your neighbor does something way in the future, but you are willing to sling a cord across the ground, creating an obvious safety hazzard immediately.

Do you have a way to take some digital photos? If so post some of your pond, yard and existing GFI area. Someone may be able to see a better solution if a good visual aid is provided.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 12:08 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Extenstion Cord


One other thought. A 15 or 20 amp circuit that is GFI protected only needs to be 12 inches in the ground. Is there a gap between your concrete pad and the neighbors fence? You could easily dig down that far along the fence line and install a UF cable.

Once you reach the house, you could run allong outside the house, or penetrate into the basement and run in the ceiling joists.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 02:03 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Levittown, Pa.
Posts: 534
Rewards Points: 528
Default

Extenstion Cord


Interested Members can go to my website to view pictures of the existing GFCI which is on the wall on the right side of the steps. The extension cord is running parallel along the wall. You will also see the encapulating device on the right side of wall where both cords are connected. The concrete patio is 7-1/2 wide to the landscape timbers. The pump for the waterfall fountain.
http://mysite.verizon.net/vzeqx2eq/bobssite22/

Last edited by rjordan392; 06-15-2007 at 05:04 PM.
rjordan392 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 03:26 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Extenstion Cord


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeekinz View Post
I really don't see a problem with the extention cord. As long as it's rated for outdoor use.

Also, no one mentioned a GFCI circuit breaker. That's what I use for my exterior outlets.
Even outdoor extension cords are not intended for continous use. Extensioin cords get nicked, freeze and crack, become soft with heat, and do not stand up to sunlight well.

Extension cords should never be used as perminant wiring methods.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 03:27 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Downeast Maine
Posts: 999
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Extenstion Cord


jwhite, Doesn't he only need to be 4" deep if it's under 4" of concrete? Couldn't he drive a piece of EMT (with the end flattened) under the concrete patio to a trench on the other side, then fish UF through the conduit?
NateHanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 03:34 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Extenstion Cord


I cannot make out the extension cord in the pic. Poor picture software and bad eyesight.

In the pic
imitationflowergarden001.jpg
Where is the pump and where is the GFI?
How is the extension cord currently run?
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 03:35 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Extenstion Cord


BTW that is a beautifull home. I love the way the woodwork shines.

The garden is fabulous.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 04:36 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Levittown, Pa.
Posts: 534
Rewards Points: 528
Default

Extenstion Cord


Jwhite,
I must have messed up on uploading the pictures. I'll try again.

Last edited by rjordan392; 06-15-2007 at 04:48 PM.
rjordan392 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 04:42 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Extenstion Cord


Quote:
Originally Posted by NateHanson View Post
jwhite, Doesn't he only need to be 4" deep if it's under 4" of concrete? Couldn't he drive a piece of EMT (with the end flattened) under the concrete patio to a trench on the other side, then fish UF through the conduit?
Only where the concrete slab extends 6 in horz beyond the cable or conduit.

He would have to undermine the slab for this to work today. It would be a great idea for digging less if the concrete were not poured yet.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 04:46 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Extenstion Cord


I only have six pics total on your web site that I can view.

Can you access the pics were you are now, and answer my questions? I actually do want to help if I can.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 04:54 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Levittown, Pa.
Posts: 534
Rewards Points: 528
Default

Extenstion Cord


I can access them but the file exceeds the forum limit of 97.7kb and will not upload. However, I will see what I did wrong as they are not on my website and will try again.

Advertisement

rjordan392 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
extension cord draining power? mt232 Electrical 14 05-25-2011 04:37 PM
Ac needs to power cord Buttons50 Electrical 5 07-13-2008 10:58 AM
Wall AC power cord options J187 Electrical 2 04-13-2007 05:12 PM
Extension Cord Question. camoram Electrical 2 04-08-2006 10:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts