Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-28-2012, 11:06 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Extension cord to romex


I'm looking to get backup power to my furnace from a generator but I'm right on space around the furnace. I do have plenty of room about 10' from the furnace at the ceiling.

Is it safe to connect a power cord w a male end directly to the romex wire that comes from the furnace inside a junction box? I know I can install a single outlet on the panel side to plug the power cable into..but I'm not sure about connecting the cable to the romex

Thanks in advance!!!

**Sorry, the title should be power cord and not extension cord**


Last edited by kiknit; 12-28-2012 at 11:50 AM. Reason: Typo
kiknit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 11:59 AM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,903
Default

Extension cord to romex


No. It is why they call them Suicide cords. As for doing it correctly, you need to install a Generator interlock.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 12:08 PM   #3
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,534
Default

Extension cord to romex


It's not code compliant to put a plug on romex, or to use a cord and plug to connect your furnace. You could do it anyway, but it's not to code. The code compliant way to do this would be to install a power inlet (like this: http://www.amazon.com/Leviton-4937-W...dp/B00074USHY/) along with a double-throw switch (a regular 3-way works for this) to transfer the furnace from line power to generator power.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 12:21 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Extension cord to romex


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
No. It is why they call them Suicide cords.
I thought suicide cords were male on both ends? Im trying to get power to the furnace via a "pig tail" so it can be unplugged from a constant power source and plugged into a generator.
kiknit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 04:23 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,867
Default

Extension cord to romex


(Furnaces using 120 volts only, fed by a single breaker)

Somewhere between the furnace and the breaker panel, along the cable that feeds the furnace --- put a 4 inch square junction box. In the box you put one 3 way switch and a standard (15 amp) male receptacle aka inlet.

Connect the neutrals to the neutral prong of the inlet. Connect the furnace hot wire to the common (dark) terminal of the 3 way switch. Connect the inlet hot terminal to one traveler (bright) terminal of the switch. Connect the hot wire from the panel to the other traveler terminal of the switch.

Use an ordinary but grounded extension cord to connect the inlet to the generator when needed. Flip the switch for generator or utility power as needed.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 04:29 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,867
Default

Extension cord to romex


fdeleted

__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Extension Cord Nightmare garrettc134 Electrical 15 09-25-2012 02:53 PM
Extension cord for generator pkucan Electrical 13 07-05-2012 04:07 PM
How many wires in Romex v. extension cord? Leah Frances Electrical 31 06-02-2010 10:24 PM
I can't find 16 gauge heavy duty extension cord! darsunt Electrical 21 08-04-2009 07:50 PM
safe way to add extension to power cord sil Electrical 7 10-18-2007 09:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.