Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-23-2012, 06:27 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Extension Cord Nightmare


Hey guys.
I just moved to a new place and was wondering if anyone has any advice about my power situation. Currently I have a 100 foot 16 gauge extension cord that is plugged into my UPS which in term powers my PC (600W power supply) 2 LCD monitors, small speakers, wireless access point and charges my laptop. It works without tripping any breakers and the cord does not feel warm. Also the UPS reports that it is receiving 121 volts.

So my question is: is this safe and could it damage my equipment. My only option is to use an extension cord for ~ 1 year. I could get away with a shorter cord (~25ft). Should I buy a shorter cord? and if so what wire gauge?

Furthermore from the same wall outlet I plan to run another extension cord with a power-strip off the end of it in order to run about 7 Cisco routers and 4 Switches for a couple of hours every night (not sure how much power they pull...) Do I need to spend the extra $ to get a 12 or 10g cord?

Any advice would be helpful. Trying not to burn the house down

Link to UPS
http://www.apc.com/resource/include/...age_type=print

garrettc134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 06:43 PM   #2
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Extension Cord Nightmare


Personally, I WOULD go with a larger gauge and shorter length.

DM

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to DangerMouse For This Useful Post:
Code05 (09-23-2012), frenchelectrican (09-23-2012)
Old 09-23-2012, 06:47 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Extension Cord Nightmare


Do you think this chart is accurate?
http://i.stack.imgur.com/0DDyE.jpg

The way I figure it I'm currently pulling 1000w max = 8.33amps
garrettc134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 07:01 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,965
Rewards Points: 2,026
Default

Extension Cord Nightmare


Measure the voltage at the receptacle end of the extension cord (as opposed to at the UPS).

If you are getting 111 to 121 volts with all of the computers and appliances going at the end of the extension cord then you are okay.

An extension cord should be uncoiled when in use to prevent heat from building up within the coils.

It is okay to run a second extension cord along the same route as the first if one cord isn't enough to carry the amperes or watts used by all of the equipment.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 09-23-2012 at 07:03 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 07:03 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Extension Cord Nightmare


The UPS is at the far end of the extension cord.

Wall outlet ------ 100ft cord--UPS---All my crap .

Should I still measure at the end of the cord or is the UPS measurement accurate enough? Thanks
garrettc134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 07:15 PM   #6
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,282
Rewards Points: 2,226
Default

Extension Cord Nightmare


100 feet of #16 stranded, that is one hell of a drop for both volts & amps. Worst thing is, the load you are putting on it, is heating it up pretty good. Hope you have insurance to cover your place, if it burns down, due to this setup.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
Code05 (09-25-2012), DangerMouse (09-24-2012), frenchelectrican (09-24-2012)
Old 09-24-2012, 01:31 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 599
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Extension Cord Nightmare


Unless you have a "split" receptacle feeding all this mess then you would be limited to about another 500 watts as you are already at 1000 on a theoretical 15 amp receptical OR 1500 watts max.
techpappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 04:31 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,965
Rewards Points: 2,026
Default

Extension Cord Nightmare


Measure the voltage at the extension cord receptacles (where the UPS is plugged into), not the UPS receptacles (that the various gear is plugged into). Measure it when all of the gear is turned on.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 09-25-2012 at 07:24 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 05:25 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 46
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Extension Cord Nightmare


Quote:
Originally Posted by garrettc134 View Post
Hey guys.
I just moved to a new place and was wondering if anyone has any advice about my power situation. Currently I have a 100 foot 16 gauge extension cord that is plugged into my UPS which in term powers my PC (600W power supply) 2 LCD monitors, small speakers, wireless access point and charges my laptop. It works without tripping any breakers and the cord does not feel warm. Also the UPS reports that it is receiving 121 volts.

So my question is: is this safe and could it damage my equipment. My only option is to use an extension cord for ~ 1 year. I could get away with a shorter cord (~25ft). Should I buy a shorter cord? and if so what wire gauge?

Furthermore from the same wall outlet I plan to run another extension cord with a power-strip off the end of it in order to run about 7 Cisco routers and 4 Switches for a couple of hours every night (not sure how much power they pull...) Do I need to spend the extra $ to get a 12 or 10g cord?

Any advice would be helpful. Trying not to burn the house down

Link to UPS
http://www.apc.com/resource/include/...age_type=print
You are getting 121V under load? (when everything is running). Voltage drop can only be measured under load. If the UPS is reciving 121 volts, that does not mean that you are getting 121V 100ft away.

With 100ft extension cord 16AWG, it is undersized. If you are really concerned about all the electronic equipment, I would get a proper circuit there. In theory less copper means less resistance so a shorter cord should help with volt drop. The reality may be different especially if you have 2 different kinds of cords.
AltaSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 11:49 PM   #10
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Extension Cord Nightmare


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
100 feet of #16 stranded, that is one hell of a drop for both volts & amps. Worst thing is, the load you are putting on it, is heating it up pretty good. Hope you have insurance to cover your place, if it burns down, due to this setup.
Basically what the OP doing which I think they may not aware with this is a serious issue due the conductor size and length and the extendison cord is NOT a perament useage.

It the same idea with water hose a super small diamaiter hose will result the same thing no flow ( aka amps on electrical side ) you will have good pressure ( voltage ) but once you open up the flow the pressure will drop alot.

The best thing is do the proper wiring set up if you can do this.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 12:12 AM   #11
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 983
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Extension Cord Nightmare


as it sits right now, it sounds like a fire waiting to happen. If adding a new receptacle isn't an option because you are renting, i would get a short 10awg cord. Not just because of the 10awg conductors inside, but also because the ends are much beefier.
jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 02:49 AM   #12
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,487
Rewards Points: 2,316
Default

Extension Cord Nightmare


Is the UPS telling you it's putting 'out' 121 Vac or is recieving 121 Vac? Based on my experience, most UPS's are not a very accurate volt meter...

Regarding your load....even though your PC supply might be rated for 600W, I really doubt your anywhere close to that actual limit unless you have about 5 HD's in it along with a wazu video card and other specialty cards. Assuming the monitors pull about 1A each....I bet your only pulling about 6-7A total...maybe 8 when charging the laptop.

Get a shorter extension cord....if anything, just so you have less cord on the floor. Oh, and make it a 14awg cord.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 08:31 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,943
Rewards Points: 2,066
Default

Extension Cord Nightmare


Where did you even find a 100-ft long 16AWG extension cord? But in any case, I'd replace it with a 12AWG cord. They're not that expensive.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 09:04 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 228
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Extension Cord Nightmare


Quote:
Originally Posted by md2lgyk View Post
Where did you even find a 100-ft long 16AWG extension cord?
Home Depot.

http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...1#.UGG52Y4-2ts
herdfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 09:52 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,646
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Extension Cord Nightmare


are there no outlets near the computer?
use the shortest 12 gauge cord you can.

DannyT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Extension cord for generator pkucan Electrical 13 07-05-2012 04:07 PM
Is my extension cord OK? MT Stringer Electrical 4 10-20-2009 07:25 AM
I can't find 16 gauge heavy duty extension cord! darsunt Electrical 21 08-04-2009 07:50 PM
Air Compressor stopped working, extension cord was used. dawho1 Tools 3 10-07-2008 05:14 AM
safe way to add extension to power cord sil Electrical 7 10-18-2007 09:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.