Extension Cord For Generator - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-03-2012, 04:46 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Extension cord for generator


Hopefully I will provide enough information here since I am a newbie on generators and electricity as evidenced by burnt screwdrivers. Here is what I have: A Honda EU6500is generator and a Rigid 5 ft 12/4 120 volt inline multi outlet generator cord with 3 15 amp and 1 20 amp outlet (can't return the $50 cord since I lost the receipt). The rigid cord cannot be plugged into the generator because the generator has a 3 prong (30 A) 120 volt twist lock receptacle and the cord has a 4 prong twist lock plug. Can I make a short cord or long cord with a NEMA L5-20P on one end with a NEMA L14-20R on the other so I can use the Rigid cord? Is 12 gauge 3 wire OK? I am assuming the NEMA L14-20R takes 4 wires? How do I go about making this cord if it is possible? I will probably get a transfer switch when I get the current 48 year old push a matic panel replaced. Thanks

Advertisement

pkucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 05:01 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Extension cord for generator


You may not connect the Rigid cord with multiple receptacles to the 30 amp generator receptacle unless the box with the multiple receptacles at the other end of the cord has 15 and/or 20 amp breakers protecting each receptacle.

You may not create or use a cord with male plugs at both ends.

For 30 amps you would need #10 gauge wiring. This includes the wiring inside the Rigid cord.

Advertisement

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 07-03-2012 at 05:06 PM.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 05:11 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Extension cord for generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
You may not connect the Rigid cord with multiple receptacles to the 30 amp generator receptacle unless the box with the multiple receptacles at the other end of the cord has 15 and/or 20 amp breakers protecting each receptacle.
Not sure I understand this part. I would run extension cords from the Rigid cord to power refrig., lights, TV, etc. individually.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
You may not create or use a cord with male plugs at both ends.
One end would have a plug and the other end a receptacle.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
For 30 amps you would need #10 gauge wiring.
This I understand.
pkucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 08:10 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Extension cord for generator


Regardless of the number of ordinary receptacles in the box at the end of the Rigid cord and the number of extension cords you plug in there, each of them has to be protected to no more than 20 amps that may come up from the generator.

To satisfy this requirement either there must be appropriate breakers in the box with the receptacles or the Rigid cord must be plugged into a receptacle that can supply it with no more than 20 amps without tripping a breaker in the generator.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 07-03-2012 at 08:13 PM.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 03:07 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 513
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Extension cord for generator


Even if you lost the receipt, you should be able to return it.
Evstarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 07:11 PM   #6
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,569
Rewards Points: 2,034
Default

Extension cord for generator


The cord you have is intended for a 30A 240V generator (4-wires: 2 hots, 1 neutral, and ground). You have 30A at 120V available (1 hot, 1 neutral, and ground). You can make an adapter or replace the plug on your cord with a 3-wire, but you'll only have half the power available. You would need to land both of the hot wires in the cable on the single hot terminal of the 3-wire plug.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mpoulton For This Useful Post:
pkucan (07-05-2012)
Old 07-05-2012, 01:40 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Extension cord for generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
You can make an adapter or replace the plug on your cord with a 3-wire, but you'll only have half the power available. You would need to land both of the hot wires in the cable on the single hot terminal of the 3-wire plug.
Thanks! Please bear with me. So this cord is intended to be plugged into the 120/240 volt 30 Amp receptacle on the generator and then it provides 120 volt to each of the 4 outlets on the cord? The male plug on this cord is a L14-20 which does not fit the generator receptacle. How would I make an adapter so that it would plug into the generator? Your patience is greatly appreciated.
pkucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 02:26 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,955
Rewards Points: 2,306
Default

Extension cord for generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
The cord you have is intended for a 30A 240V generator (4-wires: 2 hots, 1 neutral, and ground). You have 30A at 120V available (1 hot, 1 neutral, and ground). You can make an adapter or replace the plug on your cord with a 3-wire, but you'll only have half the power available. You would need to land both of the hot wires in the cable on the single hot terminal of the 3-wire plug.
He can't do this!
He needs to protect the receptale end of the cable to a max of 20 amps, thefore he can not plug it into a 30 amp receptacle.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
pkucan (07-05-2012)
Old 07-05-2012, 02:32 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 81
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Extension cord for generator


I am surprised that a 6500 watt Honda generator does not have a 240 plug on it.
M Engineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 03:17 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Extension cord for generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
He can't do this!
He needs to protect the receptale end of the cable to a max of 20 amps, thefore he can not plug it into a 30 amp receptacle.
I would venture to guess then that Rigid made this cord to be plugged into a generator that had 20 Amp receptacles. Is that correct?
pkucan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to pkucan For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (07-05-2012)
Old 07-05-2012, 04:09 PM   #11
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,569
Rewards Points: 2,034
Default

Extension cord for generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
He can't do this!
He needs to protect the receptale end of the cable to a max of 20 amps, thefore he can not plug it into a 30 amp receptacle.
These premade generator breakout cords have built-in fuses or breakers. They are specifically intended for use with a 30A generator twist-lock. Take a look next time you're at Lowes or Home Depot. Overcurrent protection is a non-issue here.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mpoulton For This Useful Post:
pkucan (07-05-2012)
Old 07-05-2012, 04:25 PM   #12
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,569
Rewards Points: 2,034
Default

Extension cord for generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by pkucan View Post
Thanks! Please bear with me. So this cord is intended to be plugged into the 120/240 volt 30 Amp receptacle on the generator and then it provides 120 volt to each of the 4 outlets on the cord? The male plug on this cord is a L14-20 which does not fit the generator receptacle. How would I make an adapter so that it would plug into the generator? Your patience is greatly appreciated.
You can cut the existing plug off and replace it with a 3-wire plug, landing both hot wires (probably red and black) together on the one hot terminal of the 3-wire plug. Alternatively, you could get a plug and receptacle that match the generator and cable respectively, and make an adapter that does the same thing using a short piece of 10/3 cable.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 04:35 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Extension cord for generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
These premade generator breakout cords have built-in fuses or breakers. They are specifically intended for use with a 30A generator twist-lock. Take a look next time you're at Lowes or Home Depot. Overcurrent protection is a non-issue here.
Thanks! What are my options to use this cord with my generator; make an extension cord for either the 3 prong 120 v 30 Amp or 4 prong 120/240 v 30 Amp generator receptacles. With the current power outage I have just been using the two 120 v 20 Amp receptacles with extension cords. Obviously, to take me out of this equation in the future, I plan on a transfer switch when getting a new panel installed!
pkucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 05:07 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Extension cord for generator


Does the generator have a breakered 20 amp single or duplex 120 volt receptacle? (The same as an ordinary household wall receptacle?)

You can make up an extension cord that accepts the plug of the Rigid cable assembly and with its own plug to fit the 20 amp receptacle.

Advertisement

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
220 extension cord question.. kmyer74 Electrical 6 04-24-2012 03:46 PM
Is my extension cord OK? MT Stringer Electrical 4 10-20-2009 08:25 AM
I can't find 16 gauge heavy duty extension cord! darsunt Electrical 21 08-04-2009 08:50 PM
Air Compressor stopped working, extension cord was used. dawho1 Tools 3 10-07-2008 06:14 AM
safe way to add extension to power cord sil Electrical 7 10-18-2007 10:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts