Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-28-2011, 03:24 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Question

Extension cable length - Film Set

Hi everyone, I'm new to the forum. I am a film student a few weeks out from working on my final year film and have a few concerns about setting up lighting in a particular location.

The location is in rural Australia in an old shed on a farm. The closest power source is approximately 100 metres (328 feet) from the shed and I need to power a number of high wattage lights simultaneously. As far as I am aware, the power source (house) has two circuits, each with 5000W. Below is a picture of the power box, each circuit has 250V and 20A.

My question is this: is it possible to run a heavy duty extension cable (Or multiple cables) to the shed and still have useable power? Or is it just too far away to be realistic/safe? Are there any alternatives?

Our last resort is to hire a generator but as we will be shooting for close to a week this will add a significant cost to a very stretched budget and also provide noise issues. We will need at least 3000W usable power to create the lighting set-up desired.

Thanks so much!

Patrick Jaeger

Pattyjae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 07:11 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor

Rewards Points: 2,000

With some good-sized extension cords, you should be able to utilise your existing power source. 100 meters is not too far away, considering your nominal voltage is 240. Even with some voltage drop, lighting is more forgiving than some other things.

I would not think that a generator is needed in this case.

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 07:28 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 2,024