Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-03-2009, 03:26 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 319
Share |
Default

Extension Box


The polaris copper to aluminum connector is a little bulky, I think I need an extension box, to make the volume bigger. I am using a cooktop and there is space behind the cabinet,
extending the box is OK right?

Are the extenders metal or plastic? I have not seen one, does it attach with 4 holes to the corner of a square cover box?

DIYGST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 04:40 PM   #2
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Default

Extension Box


4" extension boxes are available and would add the the allowed volume. But these are attached with two screws, not four to the box. you can also use extension (P-Rings) rings which will provide the screw positions for the cover plate.

Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 04:52 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 319
Default

Extension Box


4" is too much extension, another 1" or so might be good.

I was concerned about how it attaches, because the builder simply cut out plastic on top to let the 8 gauge cable come from the top, I suppose the cable is too thick.

it only have provision nows to attach a square cover with 4 screws.
DIYGST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 06:20 PM   #4
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Default

Extension Box


4" is the size of the box, not it's depth. Extension boxes are 1 1/2" deep. P-Rings are flat to 2" deep with 1/8" increments
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 11:52 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Extension Box


Must it be mounted flush? If not, you can get a deeper box and surface mount it behind the cook top or range. Would be much easier and compliant.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 02:15 PM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,417
Default

Extension Box


Why are you pigtailing copper to the aluminum wires?

Is this a new install with new wires?
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 03:34 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 319
Default

Extension Box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Why are you pigtailing copper to the aluminum wires?

Is this a new install with new wires?
Old house, and appliance comes with copper wires
I have had a long question here before and the polaris connectors are approved to join them safely.

DIYGST is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
extension cord draining power? mt232 Electrical 14 05-25-2011 03:37 PM
Extension Cord Safety KE2KB Electrical 23 01-20-2009 09:11 PM
Concrete Patio Extension redhermes Building & Construction 14 11-18-2008 10:09 PM
Air Compressor stopped working, extension cord was used. dawho1 Tools 3 10-07-2008 05:14 AM
300# versus 250# extension ladder Plasmech Tools 6 04-10-2008 03:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.