Exposed Pool Ground Wire, Can I Just Cut It? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2011, 07:19 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 98
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Exposed pool ground wire, can I just cut it?


Hey guys, I have this ground wire (I think it is a ground wire) sticking up from out of my pool. A guy offered to cut this for me and hide it but it seems I can do that myself. Does every pool just have a ground wire going around it to protect it from shock or something? Can I just cut this and hide it? Thanks!

Attached Thumbnails
Exposed pool ground wire, can I just cut it?-exposed-wire.jpg  

Advertisement

Drywallhelp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 07:26 PM   #2
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Exposed pool ground wire, can I just cut it?


it's there for a reason how about burying it under those wood chip or stones things...stick it in the ground slam a rod into the ground and secure it to that...unless somebody else kicks in on it

Advertisement


Last edited by biggles; 08-19-2011 at 07:31 PM.
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 07:27 PM   #3
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Exposed pool ground wire, can I just cut it?


If that wire is part of an Equipotential Bonding Grid, Do not cut it. You may need help if the grid is compromised.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
Drywallhelp (08-19-2011)
Old 08-19-2011, 08:07 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Exposed pool ground wire, can I just cut it?


Quote:
Originally Posted by biggles View Post
...stick it in the ground slam a rod into the ground and secure it to that...
Do NOT do this. There is absolutely NO reason to sink a ground rod for a pool BOND, which is what that is.

Code5 is right, do not cut it. Just bury it under the stones.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
Drywallhelp (08-19-2011)
Old 08-19-2011, 08:24 PM   #5
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Exposed pool ground wire, can I just cut it?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Do NOT do this. There is absolutely NO reason to sink a ground rod for a pool BOND, which is what that is.

Code5 is right, do not cut it. Just bury it under the stones.
I do not know about just burying it, I am assuming a lost connection.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 11:51 PM   #6
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,573
Rewards Points: 2,042
Default

Exposed pool ground wire, can I just cut it?


Was there some kind of equipment there previously? A heater, ladder, diving board, filter, etc.? It's rather odd to have a random bonding wire sicking out of the ground.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 11:57 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 98
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Exposed pool ground wire, can I just cut it?


No idea what it is, I don't think there was anything there. I'm just going to bury it that seems VERY logical, but did not cross my mind. Thanks for replying to my thread guys, I think you saved me from bozo'ing myself once again.

Drywallhelp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 12:03 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 98
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Exposed pool ground wire, can I just cut it?


I was trying to look up what this bonding grid is, I still am unclear. Am I right when I put it simply that it grounds metal within 5 feet of the pool? Kind of like a ground wire you use in a ceiling fan or electrical outlet?

http://www.mikeholt.com/mojonewsarch...s~20021227.htm
Quote below from this link above
Author's Comment: Bonding is required for diving structures, sliding glass door frames, windows
, fences, screen enclosures, heater equipment, and the metal cases of electrical equipment, such as the blower, chlorinator, etc. located within 5 ft of the water’s edge.
(C) Common Bonding Grid. The metallic parts of a pool, outdoor spa or hot tub specified in 680.26(B) shall be electrically bonded to a common bonding grid by a solid conductor not smaller than 8 AWG. The termination of the bonding conductor shall be made by exothermic welding, or clamps labeled (listed) as being suitable for the purpose. The common bonding grid can consist of any of the following: Figure 680-20 un680-20 680-26C.cdr
Drywallhelp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 12:24 AM   #9
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Exposed pool ground wire, can I just cut it?


First thing is just bury that conductor under the landscape stone. { Jamais cut the conductor at all }

And do not sink a ground rod that is not needed at all.

The grid do serve the purpose to keep the stray voltage down to near zero.

There are quite few diffrent links related to this topic { you can goggle it due my part will show up in French verison }

Merci.
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 12:25 AM   #10
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Exposed pool ground wire, can I just cut it?


Basically. All metal parts of/around a pool get bonded to the supply circuit EGC. Gives any possible stray currents a place to safely go. A low impedance path like a receptacle, etc.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 01:11 AM   #11
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,573
Rewards Points: 2,042
Default

Exposed pool ground wire, can I just cut it?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Drywallhelp View Post
I was trying to look up what this bonding grid is, I still am unclear. Am I right when I put it simply that it grounds metal within 5 feet of the pool?
It doesn't just ground it. Most of the metal around a pool is literally grounded already - it's in contact with the earth or the water. This is insufficient to ensure that it remains at "ground" potential, because the earth has fairly high resistance. The bonding grid connects all metal objects and equipment, the reinforced concrete around the pool, and the pool water itself, together with copper wire. This ensures that all of the bonded parts stay at the same voltage. That way there is no possibility that you can be shocked by touching any of those things while in or around the pool.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 01:34 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Exposed pool ground wire, can I just cut it?


If you check the pool equipment, you should see a similar wire bonded to the outside of your pool pump, and possibly other equipment there. It is part of the equipotential bonding system that protects anyone in the pool from stray currents. If that wire is just hanging loose, it might be wise to connect it back to the pool equipment with 8 gauge copper wire (green).
CraigMW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 06:33 AM   #13
Lic Elect/Inspector/CPO
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Exposed pool ground wire, can I just cut it?


since it already looks like it has been compromised I would make sure that the bonding from the metal parts such as ladder, rails, wet niche are still connected together and going back to motor.
NJMarine is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to NJMarine For This Useful Post:
Code05 (08-20-2011)
Old 08-20-2011, 09:05 AM   #14
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Exposed pool ground wire, can I just cut it?


Here is a picture of a bonding grid.

Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
NJMarine (08-20-2011)
Old 08-28-2011, 05:25 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 98
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Exposed pool ground wire, can I just cut it?


I easily buried it and found that the wire is likely grounded back to the pool pump since the wire looks the same there.

Advertisement

Drywallhelp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing outlet - no ground wire clydesdale Electrical 17 12-18-2011 03:29 AM
Connecting new dishwasher and garbage disposal -- no ground wire in the conduits. arca Electrical 17 03-28-2011 03:06 AM
help! exposed wire in my chandelier?! ashleyrae24 Electrical 4 11-30-2010 05:01 PM
3 Wire Set Up . . . Neutral Wire Tied to Ground Wires irishMonster Electrical 14 10-21-2010 09:20 AM
Ground wire when multiple branches run through same conduit Ptron Electrical 25 08-09-2010 05:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts