Expanding To 4 Outlets Question - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2010, 10:24 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Expanding to 4 Outlets Question


Hello,

I am in the process of remodeling my den. I currently have a box with two outlets on the wall where my TV and other entertainment components would go. I want to expand the box to have four outlets in order to minimize the use of a power strip and cables on the floor. I am planning to do the wiring below. Can someone please let me know if you see any issues with this.

Advertisement

yellowrubiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 10:46 AM   #2
BIGRED
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 487
Rewards Points: 252
Default


Looks good.

Advertisement

Grampa Bud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 11:25 AM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 9,930
Rewards Points: 4,010
Default


You could also tie the incoming and outgoing power together with 2 short pigtails of wire for each color. This would leave you with one pair of wires on each receptacle.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 12:04 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Thank you for you feedback guys.

Jim - do you mean like this?
yellowrubiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 12:07 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 11,272
Rewards Points: 9,336
Blog Entries: 11
Default


Receptacles connections are fine. You don't need pigtails.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 12:56 PM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 9,930
Rewards Points: 4,010
Default


Yes, that was the connection I was describing.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 01:52 PM   #7
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post


Looks Good.If the black line is your hot you have it backwards.Hot is on the right(small slot on rec) and Neutral is on the left(big slot on rec) Like the first pic you posted (Old)

Last edited by 300zx; 01-21-2010 at 01:55 PM.
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 02:15 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by 300zx View Post
Looks Good.If the black line is your hot you have it backwards.Hot is on the right(small slot on rec) and Neutral is on the left(big slot on rec) Like the first pic you posted (Old)
I'm going white wires to silver screws (silver circles in picture) and black/hot to brass (black circles) on the receptacle terminals. Thanks!
yellowrubiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 04:10 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 7,743
Rewards Points: 3,592
Default


Nitpicking the artistry.

When the receptacle is held with the silver screws on the right, the ground hole will be above the slots.
__________________
Tornado victims: Do not rush to rebuild. Take your time and look for and get a good contractor. Or consider selling the property and moving to a home that is ready to live in.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 04:36 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,016
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Yes, that was the connection I was describing.

Agreed - I find it easier to pig tail.

And I often double up on outlets like this where appropriate when installing new or remodeling - neater/better in that it does lessen the need for power strips and the like.

Advertisement

vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing outlets: Pigtail, or don't pigtail? bassman99 Electrical 17 05-05-2009 02:50 PM
GFCI question: can line and load wires be run inside the same conduit? thegonagle Electrical 32 04-16-2009 06:07 PM
Outlets on both sides of wall? and height question DIYGST Electrical 10 02-08-2009 06:11 PM
downstream of GFCI outlets amakarevic Electrical 11 12-25-2008 01:13 PM
Wiring Design Considerations Question tjandt Electrical 6 09-26-2006 05:44 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1