Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-30-2011, 05:55 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Existing switch, replace with combo switch/outlet


Hi there,

Here's what I currently have: A single existing switch that controls an existing overhead pantry light (house built in the 60s). The only wires coming into this switch box are black, white, and ground. With the circuit on I measure 120V between black and white. I need to replace this switch with a switch/outlet combination. My switch/outlet combination has brass/silver on one side, and black/black (with a removable tab) on the other side. Ideally I'd like the outlet to be always active and the switch to switch the light, but if that's not possible the switch can control both the outlet and the light above.

This switch box is in a very precarious spot in my house, stuck between two studs. I found the Romex wire (and the pantry light fixture box) that runs to the switch box under some floor boards in the attic, but when I pull on this wire (from the attic) it feels stuck on something. I drilled through the wood right next to it, but when I try to feed new Romex down it never makes it down to my switch box. Now I'm stumped and frustrated!

A friend of mine thinks that I can accomplish this with jumper wires between the screws on the switch/outlet combo but he wasn't exactly sure how.

Could someone help me out?

shujinko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 06:02 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,806
Rewards Points: 2,410
Default

Existing switch, replace with combo switch/outlet


If the only wires connected to the switch are the black and the white you are dealing with a switch loop and do not have a neutral needed for a receptacle.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 06:11 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Existing switch, replace with combo switch/outlet


There's three Romex 14/2 coming into the pantry light box that the switch is controlling, so I'm guessing this all exists in the middle of a circuit. Might it be possible to rewire connections in the light box to convert my wire from a switch loop to a circuit loop (but still retain switch functionality)?
shujinko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 06:16 PM   #4
Sparkaholic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to sparks1up
Default

Existing switch, replace with combo switch/outlet


*Deleted* I didn't see your reply until I had already written it!
__________________
Answers based on the mood I am in when you ask!

Last edited by sparks1up; 04-30-2011 at 06:19 PM. Reason: It became useless
sparks1up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 06:19 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Existing switch, replace with combo switch/outlet


Thanks for the responses.

The ground wire I referred to is just bare copper and it was fastened to the metal switch box, so I'm fairly certain it's ground. Other than that, pretty simple - black to one switch pole, white to the other.

What Jim said makes sense, it's just very annoying that I can't get new wire to this box.
shujinko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
B&S Generator with Connecticut Electric Xfer Switch Rick5150 Electrical 19 01-20-2011 11:14 PM
Bathroom Light/Exhaust Fan Combo Sabretooth Electrical 6 07-21-2010 11:13 PM
Convert old (nasty) switch to switch/outlet? (have pics) 3rd_times_charm Electrical 4 01-26-2010 09:35 PM
New pressure switch and inducer and still incorrect drafting kevintabb HVAC 5 01-19-2010 01:59 PM
looking to replace a rotary switch Unregistered Electrical 1 03-31-2004 01:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.