Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-18-2012, 06:51 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Existing Electrical


Hello,

I recently bought a house, and have an existing garage/shed building in our yard. It once looked like it was supplied with electricity separately by the POCO. The wires have been removed from road to building then cut, meter gone, and wiring has been removed into the panel on the opposite side of wall. The only thing that stands is the conduit entering, the weather head, and all the internal wiring. The wiring in the circuit panel (breaker panel, not fuses) looks all good, NM-B, good shape, grounded, neatly wired, and has 5 circuits. Looks like it was installed in 90's. Not that old, not brittle. Very clean. One circuit for 4-5 shoplights on the ceiling, and then various outlets spread apart. Floodlight outside, and no garage door. No 240v outlets.

I'm mostly going to be using this building for storage, and may have a little section with a TV, radio, lights, and a fan or two. No heavy loads, no A/C or heat. Since the wiring is already in place, and everything is wired correctly, is there any reason I can't put a such 12/3 SOW cord powering the panel with a plug, so I can just plug the "room" into an external outlet at the house when I am out there. Maybe I can even run NM-B 12/2 and put an "inlet" on the exterior where I can power the building via extension cord or generator so i don't have to run the cord through the door and let bugs in. Sorta like a mobile home/trailer. I can say I would probably only be using the building once a week, few times a month, but when I do, it would be nice to be able to "plug it in" to see and here some music.

I have no intention of doing much with the building, and I can't run wiring underground since there is a driveway, garden, gravel, and patio in between the shed and house. It would be a waste of money anyway since the building is mostly storage. Having a separate service restored from the street again would be a waste.

Ohno59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 06:56 PM   #2
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,710
Rewards Points: 2,094
Default

Existing Electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ohno59 View Post
...is there any reason I can't put a 12/3 SOW cord powering the panel with a plug, so I can just plug the "room" into an external outlet at the house when I am out there.
The larger issue here is the extension cord across the yard.
Far too often these get left out there far too long.

Quote:
I have no intention of doing much with the building, and I can't run wiring underground since there is a driveway, garden, gravel, and patio in between the shed and house. It would be a waste of money anyway since the building is mostly storage. Having a separate service restored from the street again would be a waste.

TarheelTerp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 07:22 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Existing Electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp View Post
The larger issue here is the extension cord across the yard.
Far too often these get left out there far too long.
House is only 50-75ft away from garage. The cord may be out there for a few days to a week, then I will have to roll it up when I mow, and defiantly in winter when I snow blow/shovel.

Building is mostly storage. Just wanted a way to power the existing lights, and a few appliance. Figured connecting to and using existing proper wiring that is there already is safer and neater than rigging up my own power with a bundle/spiderweb of extension cords hanging everywhere running to lights and appliances when I need it.
Ohno59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 08:00 PM   #4
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,710
Rewards Points: 2,094
Default

Existing Electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ohno59 View Post
House is only 50-75ft away from garage. The cord may be out there for a few days to a week, then...
Then no.
If you're not willing to roll it up EVERY time you go out there to work
then you need to find some other way to bring power into the garage.

If you can't practically go UNDERGROUND to the garage...
you should investigate going OVERHEAD from the house.
TarheelTerp is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
permit needed to re-position electrical fixtures BriBri Electrical 15 12-14-2011 07:49 PM
Adding an Electrical Outlet danebhut Electrical 16 12-13-2011 04:37 PM
Fitting dimmer switch to old electrical wiring hugomax69 Electrical 0 01-29-2010 08:40 PM
Is it right that an owner must be licensed to perform work joey b Electrical 45 12-16-2008 11:16 AM
Electrical Question - adding a 3 way switch to existing Light Marcus23 Electrical 5 10-11-2008 09:52 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.