Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-16-2012, 11:37 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

exhaust/light fixture


can i use the existing wires from old light to run new fan/light?

jasber666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 11:42 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Default

exhaust/light fixture


anyone have advice for me?

jasber666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 11:52 PM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,992
Default

exhaust/light fixture


Depends on what the wiring is, and what the fixture is rated at.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 11:54 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,211
Default

exhaust/light fixture


If the wires are in good shape and you want the light and fan to always run at the same time then there's no reason to not use them.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 12:11 AM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

exhaust/light fixture


Yeah you can but it depending on how it set up so like if you have only single NM cable then it will be no issue but if you have two cables it can affect the set up.

Make sure that you understand the switch loop is differnt so before you start take apart look at your switch to see how it conferated first that useally can save yourself alot of headache.

Second thing be aware the junction box in the fan / light combo unit there is not a really much room at all so you may have to make a junction box next to it ( if you have attic that is not a issue but have no attic in this area let me know I know there is other way you can do.)

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing ceiling fixture with a metal junction box Romanuke Electrical 12 03-20-2011 02:37 PM
Hanging an overhead fixture jbcurrier Electrical 8 11-25-2010 11:19 AM
Installing One Light Fixture Causes Another Not To Work pythagras Electrical 2 07-02-2009 08:15 PM
double-ended halogen fixture bulbs stop working watt-ever-ny Electrical 6 11-20-2007 05:25 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.