Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-24-2009, 02:22 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Exhaust Fan Nightmare


Hi. I wanted to replace a timer that works my bathroom exhaust fan. The one in there is the wind up type that makes noise until it clicks off. I decided to spring and get the push button professional looking type. When I hook it up the fan immediately turns on and I can't turn it off. It's not the switch as I got a replacement one and it does the same thing. The box has a black and white coming in. I tested to see which one has the load and it's the white one. Can anyone help get this thing going? Thanks in advance. Paul

pgs_28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 02:33 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,861
Rewards Points: 2,516
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Exhaust Fan Nightmare


That timer switch requires a neutral I think. You do not have a neutral, even though you have a white wire. Put back the spring wound type. It doesn't need a neutral.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 02:36 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Exhaust Fan Nightmare


I have a switch right beside this one in the same box that controls the light over the vanity. Anyway I could us power from that or something? thanks Paul
pgs_28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 02:40 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,861
Rewards Points: 2,516
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Exhaust Fan Nightmare


You can not use power from the other switch. You need a neutral. A neutral will be a white wire that is not connected to a switch. Tell us all the wires in the switch box.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 02:47 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Exhaust Fan Nightmare


I have 2 wires coming into the 2 gang box. one of them is hooked up to the light and the other to the fan. I also have a outlet about 6 inches away.
pgs_28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 03:09 PM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,861
Rewards Points: 2,516
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Exhaust Fan Nightmare


Do you mean 2 cables and 4 wires + grounds? If the four wires are all hooked to the switches then you have two switch loops. You can't do it. No neutral wire. Find a timer that doesn't use a neutral.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 03:16 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Exhaust Fan Nightmare


yes 2 cables, 4 wires.... + 2 grounds. ARGH....... Can I run new wire or something. Wait... do they make a silent timer or a timer that doesn't need a neutral but is motion sensitive? Btw ...thanks for all your help.
pgs_28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 03:24 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Exhaust Fan Nightmare


Just re-read your post. I have 1 cable coming in one side and hooked up to the switch for the vanity light. Another cable comes in the other box and controls the exhaust fan.
pgs_28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 04:28 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Exhaust Fan Nightmare


How many wires are on the new timer? What colors are they? Do you have a brand name and model number?

Care to post a picture of your switch box, with the switches hanging out, but still connected to the wires?
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 08:01 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Exhaust Fan Nightmare


Quote:
Can I run new wire or something
You could....but you don't want to open that can-o-worms.

Find a timer that doesn't require a neutral.

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement bathroom exhaust fan install krusty HVAC 5 09-15-2009 07:41 PM
Can I T my new dryer's exhaust into my bathrooms exhaust? Felipon Appliances 2 01-30-2008 06:53 PM
Complex challenge with bath exhaust fan - need help with solution! Honest Bill Electrical 6 11-02-2007 02:52 PM
Furnace Exhaust To Outdoors celticFC HVAC 1 09-01-2007 01:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.