European Lamp In America - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2009, 08:45 PM   #1
General Contractor
 
LakeTahoeDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lake Tahoe California
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default

European lamp in America


I have a client that has a lamp from Europe. 2 round plugs.

The lamp has very special bulbs and thus replacing them is not an option.

What are my choices?

Do I need to get a plug adapter and a converter?

Suggestions please.

& If by some chance I can find the bulbs in 110v what do I have to do, just adapt the plug?

thanks

Advertisement

LakeTahoeDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 08:57 PM   #2
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,309
Rewards Points: 2,196
Default

European lamp in America


Europe runs on 220 volt single phase, so presumably the lamp is designed for 220 volt bulbs. You can probably find the bulbs on line somewhere, the problem would be finding a 220 volt outlet to plug into. So I assume that is a bad option.

So option 2, if you can find a 110 volt equivalent bulb, you could cut the plug off, and replace it with a 110 volt plug that you can purchase for a few dollars. Hopefully the bulb would put out the proper amount of light, I imagine a specialty lighting store would be helpful in matching the European bulb to an American equivalent.

Advertisement

Daniel Holzman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 09:00 PM   #3
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

European lamp in America


Quote:
Originally Posted by LakeTahoeDan View Post
I have a client that has a lamp from Europe. 2 round plugs.

The lamp has very special bulbs and thus replacing them is not an option.

What are my choices?

Do I need to get a plug adapter and a converter?

Suggestions please.

& If by some chance I can find the bulbs in 110v what do I have to do, just adapt the plug?

thanks
Or what you could do is you could run a dedicated line to a single 220 volt receptacle. Cut off the cord end that is on the lamp and attach a 220 volt male plug end. That is if they want to keep the funky bulbs with the lamp.
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 09:02 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 155
Rewards Points: 150
Default

European lamp in America


Why not just pull the wires and rewire the thing?
jayp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 09:15 PM   #5
General Contractor
 
LakeTahoeDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lake Tahoe California
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default

European lamp in America


Quote:
Originally Posted by dSilanskas View Post
Or what you could do is you could run a dedicated line to a single 220 volt receptacle. Cut off the cord end that is on the lamp and attach a 220 volt male plug end. That is if they want to keep the funky bulbs with the lamp.

the lamp is an owl and the eyes are the bulbs.

220 receptacle in an apartment! lol

Can I use some type of converter?
LakeTahoeDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 09:15 PM   #6
General Contractor
 
LakeTahoeDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lake Tahoe California
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default

European lamp in America


Quote:
Originally Posted by jayp View Post
Why not just pull the wires and rewire the thing?
new bulbs are not an option
LakeTahoeDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 09:17 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

European lamp in America


Yeah, whats the watt rating?

http://www.dvdoverseas.com/store/ind...atalog6_0.html
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 09:24 PM   #8
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

European lamp in America


You didn't say it was in an apartment
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 09:28 PM   #9
General Contractor
 
LakeTahoeDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lake Tahoe California
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default

European lamp in America


Quote:
Originally Posted by dSilanskas View Post
You didn't say it was in an apartment
how many 220 outlets does your house have besides the laundry and range?

It is rare to have a spare 220 in any house or apartment ...imo
LakeTahoeDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 09:35 PM   #10
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

European lamp in America


Well about about a 220 volt a/c outlet? And If I needed a 220 volt outlet I would install one
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 10:34 PM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

European lamp in America


If the customer is not the owner, then I'm sure the owner would not allow this.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 11:13 PM   #12
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,643
Rewards Points: 1,080
Default

European lamp in America


What wattage are the bulbs?

A transformer that would run a 100 watt bulb would cost around $100. You could wire a 120 volt cord w/plug to it, and wire the lamp cord directly to it. It'd be a box about 6" X 4" X 4", and would weigh about 10 lbs. It'd get quite warm, you'd need to keep it off the carpet.

Sorta ugly, especially around a decorative lamp, but there are not very many other options.

Rob
micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 12:06 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default

European lamp in America


Might I sugest these units starts at less than $17, switch selectable converts 120 to 220 or 220 to 120, has 2 prong euro outlet and 3 pron U.S. outlet, 2 prong euro cord plug and comes with adapter to 120 U.S. You won't have to change any plugs.
http://www.dvdoverseas.com/store/ind...atalog6_0.html
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 12:08 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 187
Rewards Points: 150
Default

European lamp in America


Maybe it would be cheaper to just shoot the damn owl!
Gary

Advertisement

Gary_602z is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting plug-in pendant lamp to wired from electrical box. Need Help! tioleo Electrical 1 03-15-2009 08:41 PM
halogen desk lamp Banker 21 Lamp bh4bhwgm Electrical 3 09-29-2008 05:55 AM
Fluorescent lamp flickering Ash Electrical 11 08-03-2008 08:35 PM
electric wiring for fluorescent lamp toronbolo Electrical 3 03-24-2008 01:16 PM
Using a european lamp in the States mattlima Electrical 3 03-16-2008 09:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts