Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-01-2012, 04:11 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,781
Share |
Default

European 220v Tools use with US 220v Outlet


Generally you can take 50 Hz tools and run them on 60 Hz. (Not vice versa)

Easy to convert. Get a 250 volt rated appliance cord, 2 wire with ground if you wish. Use a cord rated for 20 amps and a "20 amp" 240 volt plug unless you are sure that the tool is rated for more. You can use a lesser rated cord if you are sure the tool is rated for less.

Using a grounded appliance cord and 3 prong plug, connect the green wire to the frame or body of the tool. (A cord with red, white, and black wires only is for 120/240 volt ungrounded use, not 240 volt grounded use.)

__________________
The average homeowner who lost his house in the Oklahoma tornadoes should move for good and not rebuild. Too much complexity watchdogging the contractor. Too much a chance to be defrauded.

Last edited by AllanJ; 08-01-2012 at 04:18 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 04:12 PM   #17
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,687
Default

European 220v Tools use with US 220v Outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Amusinglisa View Post
Could either of you elaborate on how to make a two-wire 220 into a three-wire 220?
Why don't you first explain what you mean by this?
What are you calling a two-wire and three-wire "220"?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
jbfan (08-01-2012)
Old 08-02-2012, 06:54 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Default

European 220v Tools use with US 220v Outlet


If I cut the plug ( two round prongs) off my new 220/240v 50/60Hz 3.1Kw German cooktop, I see two wires - one blue and one beige (or tan). My contractor has explained the neutral and ground or earth concept and that we have to use 4 wires for 220 here inthe US.
Amusinglisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 07:09 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,781
Default

European 220v Tools use with US 220v Outlet


If the 220/240 volt appliance has no 110/120 volt internal components then it needs just a 3 wire cord, two hots for 220/240 volts and a ground. Generally you can keep the existing cord even if there is no ground wire in it but you must use a plug with no ground pin (just two prongs for 220/240 volts only).

Branch circuits in the U.S. must be grounded. This requires 3 wires and ground for equipment using both 120 and 240 volts and 2 wires plus ground for 240 volts only.
__________________
The average homeowner who lost his house in the Oklahoma tornadoes should move for good and not rebuild. Too much complexity watchdogging the contractor. Too much a chance to be defrauded.

Last edited by AllanJ; 08-02-2012 at 07:12 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 07:30 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Default

European 220v Tools use with US 220v Outlet


It seems euro plugs want 230 all on one wire. Can we do that?
Amusinglisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 11:21 PM   #21
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,461
Default

European 220v Tools use with US 220v Outlet


You're fin running a German cooktop on US 240V. Just connect blue and beige to the two hots (black and black, or black and red). You're right that it's somewhat different than the European system, but it will work. The European system expects one wire to be gounded and the other to be 220V. Here, each hot wire is 120V with respect to ground, and 240V between the two hots. The appliance will work fine though. Just be aware that some electronic timers will run 20% fast due to the frequency difference.

mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with outlet controlled by switch craigpall Electrical 2 05-18-2008 08:08 AM
Electrical outlet hook up. helpless handyman Electrical 4 07-30-2007 08:18 PM
20a Outlet Vs. 15a Outlet bobo Electrical 3 05-29-2006 10:55 PM
Adding garage outlet Shane Electrical 1 02-23-2006 04:43 PM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 08:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.