Ethernet Connections In Every Room... - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2011, 09:35 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ethernet connections in every room...


My question is slightly electrical... Every room in my home has an RJ-45/CAT-5e jack in the wall. They all run out to a Corning 7600 Telephone Network Interface. It looks as though there are only two of eight wires connected from each room, I am assuming to have telephone connectivity. Does anyone know a quick way to connect every room to each other for ethernet connectivity short of running AC power to the box and connecting a ethernet switch?

Advertisement

mercury97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 09:53 PM   #2
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Ethernet connections in every room...


Are you sure they are RJ-45 size and not RJ-11? Having only 2 wires connected and then termination at a Network Interface box doesn't seem very logical.

Advertisement

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 09:55 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ethernet connections in every room...


I am sure, it is CAT 5e cable running into the wall. You can plug an RJ-11 into an RJ-45 jack and would only need two of eight cables.

PS: Did you fly A-7's?
mercury97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 09:58 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ethernet connections in every room...


Here's a photo of the mess I am looking at...
Attached Images
 
mercury97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 10:00 PM   #5
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Ethernet connections in every room...


Quote:
Originally Posted by mercury97 View Post
PS: Did you fly A-7's?
Nope, fixed them - radar, computer, inertial navigation, and HUD.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 10:07 PM   #6
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Ethernet connections in every room...


Quote:
Originally Posted by mercury97 View Post
Does anyone know a quick way to connect every room to each other for ethernet connectivity short of running AC power to the box and connecting a ethernet switch?
If the cabling is truly cat 5 and you want to convert it from phone to Ethernet, you will need a switch or a router at the distribution point.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 10:12 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ethernet connections in every room...


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
If the cabling is truly cat 5 and you want to convert it from phone to Ethernet, you will need a switch or a router at the distribution point.
Yeah, my only concern is finding a router that can survive the elements. While there is a metal door to the box, I don't know that it will keep out humidity and the cold. The switch I am looking at is only rated down to 32 degrees. Think I may have to bring the cables back inside.

Thank you for your service. I fly something similar, only newer.
mercury97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 10:24 PM   #8
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 512
Default

Ethernet connections in every room...


I'd yank all those cables back inside to a decent patch panel, and install a router or switch there. If you still want any jacks for phones, patch 'em to a single cable running back out to the outside NID. That's what I did here, anyway.
McSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 12:09 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Ethernet connections in every room...


Just go wireless. IMHO
__________________
____________
Vince
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 12:11 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ethernet connections in every room...


Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
Just go wireless. IMHO
I prefer than bandwidth of Gigabit when streaming HD movies. Sometimes wireless just doesn't cut it. There will be wireless on the network in the form of Apple Time Capsules but I want the backbone to be Gigabit.
mercury97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 02:19 AM   #11
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,571
Rewards Points: 2,038
Default

Ethernet connections in every room...


Most consumer routers will survive the elements if you keep water out. I've used Linksys WRT-54G's in sealed enclosures outdoors for years with no hardware failures. Had a D-link switch outside in Nebraska for 2 years in a tupperware container.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 08:35 AM   #12
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,414
Rewards Points: 2,490
Default

Ethernet connections in every room...


Quote:
Originally Posted by mercury97 View Post
I prefer than bandwidth of Gigabit when streaming HD movies. Sometimes wireless just doesn't cut it. There will be wireless on the network in the form of Apple Time Capsules but I want the backbone to be Gigabit.
You can stream HD on Cat-5e. Cat-5e will handle gig speeds. As for your original question, since this is for telephone distribution, you will have to pull another set of Cat-5e if wanting ethernet at those wall plates. Pull a min. of two, but in the media room, pull no less than six. I would still go with a mixed system, since wireless is now becoming the mainstay, and wired is starting to become old technology.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 07:55 AM   #13
Member
 
Thadius856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 921
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Ethernet connections in every room...


Are you sure you'd be able to get gigabit speed with that cable to begin with? Cat5e won't always achieve gigabit speeds, especially over long runs or when questionably terminated. How about replacing that box with a patch panel?

Even easier, rip out the guts of that box, use some inline couplers, and bring the cable back inside through the Tel Co side hole on the right side of the picture. You'll probably have to pull the couplers and scrub off the oxidation every winter, but it would probably get the job done.
Thadius856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 08:09 AM   #14
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,233
Rewards Points: 2,376
Default

Ethernet connections in every room...


That box is the telephone company demarcation point, do not tear ir apart. It contains electrical protection equipment an is used for trouble testing and isolation..
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 08:51 AM   #15
Member
 
Thadius856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 921
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Ethernet connections in every room...


Good point.

Advertisement

Thadius856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Insulating a cold/well room? Lynch Building & Construction 23 07-25-2014 03:49 PM
First Question: How to cool this room? Warhammer: 3025 HVAC 4 03-25-2009 11:02 AM
Vents from boiler room RammsteinNicCage HVAC 3 03-11-2009 08:28 PM
A room in a room? artosie General DIY Discussions 2 03-10-2009 01:43 PM
Room to Room Vent cjpilot HVAC 5 12-02-2007 09:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts