Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-17-2008, 10:19 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Estimating wire needs......


I am going to be wiring an addition on my house shorty and am wondering how all you experts estimate how much wire you need for a job. Granted I don't really want to purchase a 1000 ft reel of wire when I will only need 300 feet. Currently I plan on measuring my runs and adding 20%. I'm sure this is a dumb question but any help is appreciated. Thanks!
fdub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 10:44 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Estimating wire needs......


Buy 250 ft rolls and bring back what you dont use..., as far as professionals, we just use it on the next job...
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 10:57 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,502
Default

Estimating wire needs......


Chris is on the money. You can take back unused rolls of romex. Do you know what size/size's you are going to use? Is a kitchen included in the remodel? Don't forget about AFCI's if you are having this inspected. (bedrooms)?
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 01:20 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 192
Default

Estimating wire needs......


re-wiring my house....

I looked at the 1000' rolls and the price per foot is basically the same as the 250' rolls. I just bought 250' rolls as needed. Before I started I thought the wire roller spool things were a waste. After untwisting the first roll I quickly changed my mind. I fashioned up some wire roll hubs that roll freely on a piece of scrap pipe. It really does make life easier and the pulls are much neater (as opposed to pulling from the center of 250' roll). Not sure what a commercial version costs, but I made a dual spool roller out of some scrap wood, took about 10 minutes. I would highly recommend one.
steve1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Indoor wire vs outdoor wire Potomac101 Electrical 2 12-31-2007 03:00 PM
Can you wire a 3-way circuit with 2 wire + ground mnyman2003 Electrical 8 12-04-2007 08:23 AM
Stove Top wire capt2 Electrical 8 10-05-2007 01:41 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM
Does a 6 x 12ga wire nut exist? peeks Electrical 1 10-02-2005 09:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.