DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum (http://www.diychatroom.com/)
-   Electrical (http://www.diychatroom.com/f18/)
-   -   ESA Inspection (http://www.diychatroom.com/f18/esa-inspection-174531/)

mcleanap 03-14-2013 04:45 PM

ESA Inspection
 
3 Attachment(s)
So I just had an inspection this morning. I was a little nervous since it was really the first time I did this much electrical work myself.

It went well, however he said he did have come back to check on a few things once I have corrected them.

Now that I have had time to really look at the few issues, I am wondering if they were issued at all. As I said, I was nervous so I didn't question anything he was saying to me, I guess in fear he would question more and more if I prodded.

So here were the minor issues.

1. Need larger staple for the 10 gauge wire for dryer.
2. Only one staple should be used per wire on some of the outlets.
3. He mentioned the one 3-way switch in the bathroom was not right.
4. The gangable boxes were not mounted correctly and would have to be replaced.

I have attached a few pictures and would like some feedback.

1. It says on the box for the staples that it allows for a 10/3. That should have been OK I would assume.

2. There is a photo of the staple on two 14/2 wires. Is this not OK? Again, on the box it says it allows for two 14/2 wires.

3. This was one I didn't want to question and at the time, I really didn't think of it, but he said that the switch didn't have a source of power coming into it...neither did the other switch. But looking it over after, I remembered that I ran the source of power through the light in a deeper box. Then ran 14/3's to each switch. Would that not be right?

4. The only one I am not really sure of and cannot find anything on it is the use of gangable boxes. I have these in a few spots as you can see in the photo. Is this wrong?

Thanks for any tips.

brric 03-14-2013 04:54 PM

Plaster ears on the gangable are problematic and the box should stand proud of the stud to about the thickness of the wall finish. How are they mounted?

Techy 03-14-2013 05:29 PM

flat cables must be stapled flat, not on edge like in the picture. (cable closer to the stud,) staples do appear to be rated for 10/3, did inspector see bucket?

mcleanap 03-14-2013 05:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by brric (Post 1137319)
Plaster ears on the gangable are problematic and the box should stand proud of the stud to about the thickness of the wall finish. How are they mounted?

Mounted on the inside.

mcleanap 03-14-2013 05:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Techy (Post 1137336)
flat cables must be stapled flat, not on edge like in the picture. (cable closer to the stud,) staples do appear to be rated for 10/3, did inspector see bucket?

I guess the one in the picture is twisted a bit, but I know others are flat like you said. So, other than the one twisted, is it ok to have 2 on one staple? Inspector said that the wire coming through the hold is support enough....no need to have it stapled.

He didn't see the box. In fact, I assumed he was right since it was an S2. Again, didn't question anything.

I may call back tomorrow to question the reported issues. Still may have to do another inspection, but it's a bit of a pain, nonetheless.

rjniles 03-14-2013 07:09 PM

Are you in the US, I have never seen NM cable with a red jacket?

Use plastic nail on boxes.

mcleanap 03-14-2013 07:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rjniles (Post 1137384)
Are you in the US, I have never seen NM cable with a red jacket?

Use plastic nail on boxes.

In Canada. It's orange. Looks red in the photo I guess.

Kyle_in_rure 03-14-2013 07:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mcleanap (Post 1137342)
I guess the one in the picture is twisted a bit, but I know others are flat like you said. So, other than the one twisted, is it ok to have 2 on one staple? Inspector said that the wire coming through the hold is support enough....no need to have it stapled.

He didn't see the box. In fact, I assumed he was right since it was an S2. Again, didn't question anything.

I may call back tomorrow to question the reported issues. Still may have to do another inspection, but it's a bit of a pain, nonetheless.

I've always been told that two under one staple is fine. But I don't know how the inspector would feel about it....

rjniles 03-14-2013 07:15 PM

You have old work boxes and you need new work boxes.

With metal boxes the ground must be bonded to the box.

joecaption 03-14-2013 07:20 PM

How do you expect to install drywall with boxes like that?

k_buz 03-14-2013 07:22 PM

I would have also written you up on bending radius of the cable.

joed 03-14-2013 07:35 PM

ESA does not like two cables under one staple. If can prove the staple is rated for two you might get away with it.
The staple holding the #10 is not hammered in up the small ears. If it was it would be deforming the cable thus it is probably the wrong staple. Staples have a rating for the cable they are designed for.

If you check this link you will see there are 4 different sizes of staples for this manufacturer.

https://west.nedco.ca/medias/sys_mas...35172_4_en.pdf

gregzoll 03-14-2013 07:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rjniles (Post 1137384)
Are you in the US, I have never seen NM cable with a red jacket?

Use plastic nail on boxes.

#10 from Southwire has been Orange for some time.

gregzoll 03-14-2013 07:46 PM

Picture #3 has about 3 problems right off the bat that is probably the first thing that jumped out at the inspector, then it went downhill from there.

mcleanap 03-14-2013 07:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gregzoll (Post 1137432)
Picture #3 has about 3 problems right off the bat that is probably the first thing that jumped out at the inspector, then it went downhill from there.

I took that specific photo because that is the one where he said replace the box. That and a similar one. The rest were ok.

What are the 3 issues if you don't mind me asking?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 AM.


Copyright 2003-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved