ER Help? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-04-2008, 07:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

ER Help?


I have a big question

I picked up a 2 bulb flourecent fixture and it has the following lablel on it:

"branch circut conductor must be rated for 90C" now there is a similar post on this forum but the wording on this one is different plus the intended use will be different

I plan to use onl 1 40W bulb (does this change the max load or temp rating?)
I want to put the fixture on a timer can this be done? safley?
I think my house is wired with 60 conductors (built in 1981)

Advertisement

markl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2008, 09:01 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

ER Help?


1 40 watt bulb will be fine but if someone was to install 2 100 watt incandescents it could be a problem. Go with compact fluorescents and you should be fine.

most Romex is THHN 90c wire, but you may have 60c. the fixture probably reads not to exceed 60 watt bulbs as well. Go with CFL's and you'll be fine.

Advertisement

Stavop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2008, 09:59 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

ER Help?


Newer NM cable is 90 deg C. Older stuff, even from 1981, is likely 60 or 75 deg C rated with TW conductors.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2008, 10:33 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

ER Help?


I plan to use onl 1 40W bulb (does this change the max load or temp rating?)

I want to put the fixture on a timer can this be done? safley?

I think my house is wired with 60 conductors (built in 1981)

Can this all be done without problems?
markl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts