Equipotential Grid For Hot Tub - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-14-2008, 06:49 PM   #16
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Equipotential grid for hot tub


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post
I was hoping you would disagree and prove me wrong.
Sorry, not this time.

Advertisement

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 08:34 PM   #17
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,235
Rewards Points: 2,440
Default

Equipotential grid for hot tub


Thats a very good question and the code is rather vague on that issue.

I would have to agree that a grid is required around the perimeter (walking area) but not necessarily under the tub. I suppose for existing concrete you would have to install some sort of insulating surface on the slab such as wood or plastic pad in order to circumvent the bonding grid requirement??
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 08:39 PM   #18
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,235
Rewards Points: 2,440
Default

Equipotential grid for hot tub


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
What changes if any, that the tub is above grade sitting on a wood deck specifically built for the tub. A factory contained unit with no metal ladders ect..? Would the EGC, combination disco and recept in site meet the spec? Thanks

JV

If the tub is on a non-conductive surface such as a wood deck then there would be no grid requirement imo.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 08:59 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Equipotential grid for hot tub


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
JV

If the tub is on a non-conductive surface such as a wood deck then there would be no grid requirement imo.
That's how I'm interpreting it, and that seems to go along with most inspector's opinions I have found in other forums. I guess I'll just throw down some thick rubber mats and create a nonconductive "walking path" around the tub. I just love helping family. Here's the backstory in case anyone's interested. Had to move a hot tub from a wood deck approx 20' away to pavers on grade. Removed the exisiting spa panel and installed a j-box where that was. Ran conduit from the j-box around the corner to the new location of the spa panel (50A GFCI within the 5' to 50' in sight rule). Extended the circuit with 3 #6's and 1 #10 THWN. Conduit from the Spa Panel to the tub with the 3 sixes and the #10 ground.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 10:18 PM   #20
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,546
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Equipotential grid for hot tub


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Thats a very good question and the code is rather vague on that issue.

I would have to agree that a grid is required around the perimeter (walking area) but not necessarily under the tub. I suppose for existing concrete you would have to install some sort of insulating surface on the slab such as wood or plastic pad in order to circumvent the bonding grid requirement??
That would certainly be easier than cutting/digging up an existing patio, but I would not use wood... when wet, it can become conductive, just like the concrete, especially if pressure treated (high ionic content).

Advertisement

__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bonding , hot tub


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hi from Off The Grid Tennessee Forest Breath Introductions 3 09-04-2008 03:01 PM
Wire size for 300watt trans, 3 way 100ft Al the Diy guy Electrical 16 03-22-2008 09:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts