Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-03-2013, 06:39 PM   #16
JW
 
mm11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 162
Share |
Default

Equipment Bonding Jumper


Service point- the point of connection between the utility and the premises wiring (at the meter).
mm11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 06:44 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 12
Default

Equipment Bonding Jumper


Quote:
Originally Posted by mm11 View Post
Service point- the point of connection between the utility and the premises wiring (at the meter).
Okay, so just to clarify - since my condo does not physically have the meter inside of it (only the panel box), an equipment bonding jumper should not be needed, like brric suggested?
skyfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 07:00 PM   #18
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,513
Default

Equipment Bonding Jumper


Since the raceway contains the feeder and not service entrance conductors, no bonding jumper is required. The raceway is an approved grounding means. Tell the HI not to quit his day job. Idiot.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. All other states click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. Online motor calculator
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. Online calculators
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to electures For This Useful Post:
brric (06-03-2013), gregzoll (06-03-2013), J. V. (06-04-2013), mm11 (06-04-2013), MTN REMODEL LLC (06-03-2013)
Old 06-03-2013, 07:05 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 12
Default

Equipment Bonding Jumper


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
Since the raceway contains the feeder and not service entrance conductors, no bonding jumper is required. The raceway is an approved grounding means. Tell the HI not to quit his day job. Idiot.
Good to know, thanks! Judging by the name, I take it that "service entrance conductors" would actually appear at the service point, hence what mm11 indicated about the bonding jumper being necessary in such a case?

Could you also let me know your take on why I'm seeing voltage on the wires in my bathroom in spite of all circuit breakers being engaged?
skyfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 08:16 PM   #20
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,943
Default

Equipment Bonding Jumper


That is a Sub-Panel. Somewhere there is a Main breaker panel. Your Home Inspector is an idiot and should be reported in trying to be a licensed electrician. I would be curious as to what other stuff they called out, that they did not have a clue about.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: So what'll happen?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 08:58 PM   #21
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 1,626
Default

Equipment Bonding Jumper


Quote:
Originally Posted by skyfx View Post

Could you also let me know your take on why I'm seeing voltage on the wires in my bathroom in spite of all circuit breakers being engaged?
I think I read the thread correctly and did not miss any info, but I have no idea what that non-contact tester from commercial/ harborfreight does.

I might suggest just get a MM (multimeter), probably an analog... it's cheaper and avoids ghost voltage readings a little better, and test whether you really have a live line.

Take it from there....

Best

Late EDIT: Greg mentioned it below this post, but you did mean your breaker was dis-engaged... not engaged. You had explained this earlier in a post, so I did nor mentioj it.
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by MTN REMODEL LLC; 06-03-2013 at 10:00 PM.
MTN REMODEL LLC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 09:51 PM   #22
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,943
Default

Equipment Bonding Jumper


Quote:
Originally Posted by skyfx View Post
Good to know, thanks! Judging by the name, I take it that "service entrance conductors" would actually appear at the service point, hence what mm11 indicated about the bonding jumper being necessary in such a case?

Could you also let me know your take on why I'm seeing voltage on the wires in my bathroom in spite of all circuit breakers being engaged?
What do you mean by engaged? If they are on, you will have electricity flowing to the circuit. If the breaker is off, there will not be any electricity flowing to the circuit.

If you are using a non-contact, or "Inductance" type tester, they work off the magnetic field generated by the electricity flowing through a circuit. Sort of how a magnet generates a small electric field around it, when you have another magnet near it. You move the two magnets back and forth fast enough, with a loop of wire connected between them, to a small flashlight bulb, you will actually light up the light bulb. Same concept as those non-contacts.

One of a few tools I have for checking to figure out which romex is the one that I killed, when I am in my basement, due to still have not marked the breakers after moving circuits around from the Kitchen remodel.

You really need one of these http://www.lowes.com/pd_218710-1781-...sales_dollar|1 if you want to check if the outlet or circuit is live, if you have multiple feeds into a box.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: So what'll happen?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
MTN REMODEL LLC (06-03-2013)
Old 06-07-2013, 06:40 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 12
Default

Equipment Bonding Jumper


Quote:
Originally Posted by MTN REMODEL LLC View Post
I think I read the thread correctly and did not miss any info, but I have no idea what that non-contact tester from commercial/ harborfreight does.

I might suggest just get a MM (multimeter), probably an analog... it's cheaper and avoids ghost voltage readings a little better, and test whether you really have a live line.

Take it from there....

Best

Late EDIT: Greg mentioned it below this post, but you did mean your breaker was dis-engaged... not engaged. You had explained this earlier in a post, so I did nor mentioj it.
Dis-engaged is what I meant then, sorry. I figured when a circuit breaker is engaged the circuit is broken, but I guess my logic was flawed.

The tester I was using can be seen here - Electrical Newbie - Voltage Tester has "O" "L" "H" Settings - Not sure if wire is hot - but I will try getting a multimeter so I can better tell what's going on. Thanks for the advice.
skyfx is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to skyfx For This Useful Post:
MTN REMODEL LLC (06-07-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re-routing a Bonding Jumper Wire t60 Electrical 13 07-30-2012 03:05 PM
6 AWG bonding jumper through attic (thhn/thwn?) jcrack_corn Electrical 13 03-04-2012 06:55 PM
Bonding Pool Equipment - Conflicting Advice rickster18 Electrical 6 08-18-2011 05:21 PM
Bonding for Pool Equipment Elecman Electrical 9 03-23-2010 03:09 AM
Wire size for 300watt trans, 3 way 100ft Al the Diy guy Electrical 16 03-22-2008 08:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.