Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-01-2014, 04:30 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
Share |
Question

Entire floor no power


So the other day I was vacuuming in one outlet and had the tv on in the outlet next to it (common practice for myself). This time it blew the breaker. I went and flipped the appropriate breaker to return power normally. A few days later once again I was vacuuming in one outlet, and tv on in the one next to it (same outlets). The power blew again! Only this time it did not blow the breaker. I have an entire floor with no power and several outlets with no power on the upper level.
I have power at the panel throughout all the lines, today I took out every single outlet in my house to ensure proper connections. Every outlet was wired properly. I also checked the wires from the two outlets that "created" the problem, (not positive, as my electrical knowledge is little) with the power on. There is no current running through these wires.
My knowledge is very low on anything electrical. I'm out of ideas.
Need some suggestions/help on how to isolate the problem.
I would like my power back.
It's been several days now

Pitbullprincess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 04:59 PM   #2
I am
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Bora Bora
Posts: 458
Default

Entire floor no power


Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitbullprincess View Post
Need some suggestions/help on how to isolate the problem.
I would like my power back.
It's been several days now
there's only so much an internet forum could do

UnclePhil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 05:02 PM   #3
I am
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Bora Bora
Posts: 458
Default

Entire floor no power


You know anything about electrical wiring...??

turn off the breaker that tripped.. that didn't trip so you don't get hurt..

Open up the receptacle to see if things are tight, loose, burnt...

gotta trace the circuit and see whats going on..
I f a guy knows what he was doing, could get lucky and find it in minutes.. could also take hours..
UnclePhil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 05:51 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,349
Default

Entire floor no power


first thoughts !
could be several things -
a tripped gfci ? a very common problem !
sometimes they are found in the most unlikely places.
or a bad splice in a hidden j box.
Do you know more about how the house is wired ?
Do you know where the power for the top floor comes from ?
And the route it takes ?

dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 10:37 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,739
Default

Entire floor no power


Did you turn the breaker all the way off before trying to reset?
What are you using to test for power?
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 06:35 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
Default

Entire floor no power


The first thing I checked was the breaker panel. All is good. There is current running to and from the panel on that circuit. All GFCI are fine. I've taken apart every receptacle in my house, no wires have been disconnected. Could a light switch cause the problem? Could it be coming from a line with a current?
Pitbullprincess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 09:27 AM   #7
24+ years of fixin'
 
gmaint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Seabeck, WA
Posts: 215
Default

Entire floor no power


Does the vacuum cause breakers to trip anywhere else?
This one breaker, is the switch firm with a definant click when you turn the power back on with it? Or does it feel loose? Could be a bad breaker.

__________________
Gregg M.
gmaint is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TV power bridge into existing outlet and protected by an external surge protector andytran73 Electrical 4 12-14-2011 08:00 AM
house power supply upgrade in Australia pcd1965 Electrical 3 08-22-2009 08:17 PM
Wring for Lincoln Power Mig Welder vstoyko Electrical 17 01-15-2009 06:15 PM
safe way to add extension to power cord sil Electrical 7 10-18-2007 09:58 PM
Partial power on same fuse! joyjam Electrical 5 07-10-2005 10:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.