Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-06-2012, 06:50 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Enough Power? Help!


Hello,

I have a 40amp breaker with 8/3 wire running to my garage.
I'm looking to setup a breaker box to use a

Miller 212 mig welder 208/230V phase 1 , 60HZ.
160 Amps at 24.5 VDC, 60% duty cycle
Ingersoll Rand 5-HP 60-Gallon Single-Stage Air Compressor - 230V
some 120 outlets and lights.

I know i probably won't be able to use the welder and the compressor at the same time. I hope i'm providing enough information and how could i set up the new breaker box in the garage?

thanks, Joe

MGKelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 08:03 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 440
Default

Enough Power? Help!


first you need to see on the spec tag and see what the current rating is for the 208/230 volt side.then what the breaker size is required.

oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 08:10 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Enough Power? Help!


Both units are about 25 amps so you should be ok with some lights and only using one at a time. If you have a panel in the garage you will need to add the recommended breaker for both and wire a receptacle or direct wire them.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 02:37 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Enough Power? Help!


Thanks,

Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
Both units are about 25 amps so you should be ok with some lights and only using one at a time. If you have a panel in the garage you will need to add the recommended breaker for both and wire a receptacle or direct wire them.
MGKelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power strip hack salex Electrical 3 01-31-2012 06:10 AM
Outdoor Hot Tub / Overhead Power line issue scottwilliamson Electrical 3 02-12-2010 10:37 AM
Devices to save on phantom power fetzer85 Electrical 7 12-04-2009 08:03 PM
Recurring Power Oddities - Regular Schedule DamienChaos Electrical 16 10-21-2009 07:45 PM
safe way to add extension to power cord sil Electrical 7 10-18-2007 09:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.