Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-15-2010, 11:26 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

EMT and WIRE size - 100 amp sub panel


i am currently installing a two 125 amp sub panel and it is terminal lug only .
this two panel will receive power from 200 amp 2 gang meter with two 100 amp main breaker. my question is will terminal lug panel o.k to use or should i use a su panel with a 100 amp main breaker. is 1 1/2 emt o.k to use from sub panel to main panel.

balansaj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2010, 08:03 AM   #2
Sparkaholic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 192
Send a message via Yahoo to sparks1up
Default

EMT and WIRE size - 100 amp sub panel


If you have main breakers at the meter for each of the panels you don't need a main breaker in the panel.

1-1/2" EMT conduit is fine you could even run 1-1/4"

__________________
Answers based on the mood I am in when you ask!
sparks1up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2010, 01:28 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,831
Default

EMT and WIRE size - 100 amp sub panel


Main lug panel is okay unless it is in another building.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 12:33 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Default

EMT and WIRE size - 100 amp sub panel


I have a 200 amp service main panel with 2 meters and 2 100 amp DP breakers. I will be installing 2 100 amp sub panel and both are only 25 ft. away from the main. My questions are ; 1) what size of wire should I use?
2) Can I run the ground wire in the conduit along with the other 3 wires?
3) If so , what size of ground wire ? 4) Do I still need to ground or bound the sub panel to a water pipe. 5) What size of EMT should I run ?
I will highly apprecite any response. THANK YOU.
balansaj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 11:21 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

EMT and WIRE size - 100 amp sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by balansaj View Post
I have a 200 amp service main panel with 2 meters and 2 100 amp DP breakers. I will be installing 2 100 amp sub panel and both are only 25 ft. away from the main. My questions are ; 1) what size of wire should I use?
2) Can I run the ground wire in the conduit along with the other 3 wires?
3) If so , what size of ground wire ? 4) Do I still need to ground or bound the sub panel to a water pipe. 5) What size of EMT should I run ?
I will highly apprecite any response. THANK YOU.
1) 3-#3 copper for 100 amp sub panel. 1-#8 EGC.
2) The ground wire EGC must be run with the feeder conductors. So you will be pulling 4 wires H-H-N-G. #8 Ground wire is sufficient. Minimum.
3) No, the EGC is connected to the grounding/neutral buss bar in the main panels. Bonding only occurs at the service. There are exceptions, but not in your case.
4) I would run at least 1-1/2". You could use a 1" and be compliant, but its way to small in my opinion. Use 1.5 or 2.0 inch.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 12:22 PM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,831
Default

EMT and WIRE size - 100 amp sub panel


1.25 " EMT is large enough and would not require an equipment grounding conductor but I would install one anyway.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 03:17 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

EMT and WIRE size - 100 amp sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
1.25 " EMT is large enough and would not require an equipment grounding conductor but I would install one anyway.
If he was extending the service, (he is not) he would not require the EGC, he would require a GEC for both new service panels.
It sounds like he is running two 100 amp feeders 25' from two 100 amp breakers in a meter main. If he was extending the service with lug adapters at the meter then I would agree with your statement regarding the EGC. These are not services,they are feeders.
Why do you say he does not require the EGC. I am asking. Thanks John

brric......Sorry. I see hes using EMT. A good exercise none the less.


Last edited by J. V.; 05-18-2010 at 03:21 PM.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.