Emergency Kill Switch For Workbench? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2013, 05:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Emergency kill switch for workbench?


Hello folks,
I'm adding an electrical outlets next to my workbench in the garage. I'll be running my drill press, sanders, and band saw for the crafts we like to do. Now I'd like to add a push button kill switch in front of my 4 outlet plug. Just in the case anyone has any kind of problem while working with the equipment and needs it turned off in a hurry.

Does anyone have any suggestions about where to locate a quality mushroom button (red?) kill switch that I would simply add to my circuit?

Thanks in advance!

Advertisement

doorguy500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 06:20 PM   #2
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,297
Rewards Points: 2,172
Default

Emergency kill switch for workbench?


Any decent electrical supply house should have them, just tell them the required voltage (presumably 120V) and amperage. I use an ordinary contractor grade switch next to my table mounted router, but maybe a push button would be safer.

Advertisement

Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 06:31 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,051
Rewards Points: 504
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Emergency kill switch for workbench?


Most push button contact blocks I've dealt with are rated for about 10 amps.
Not to say they don't make them rated higher.

I would suggest a using a contactor or shunt trip and have your maintained mushroom switch operate those.

Make sure it's a "maintained" switch and not a "momentary".

Just google emergency stop or mushroom push button or http://automationdirect.com
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to wirenut1110 For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (09-02-2013)
Old 09-01-2013, 07:18 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Emergency kill switch for workbench?


I was looking here http://energycontrol.com/Emergency_S...e_Station.aspx

and was about to order it, but then the question came up about being normally open or normally closed? And is this a decent price for the item I'm looking for?

What does it mean to be "maintained" vs "momentary"?
doorguy500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 07:26 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,051
Rewards Points: 504
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Emergency kill switch for workbench?


A momentary switch will spring back after you release it. A maintained will maintain the position until you either pull it back out or twist to release.

You want maintained.

Edit:And you want normally closed.

Last edited by wirenut1110; 09-01-2013 at 07:29 PM.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 07:44 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,051
Rewards Points: 504
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Emergency kill switch for workbench?


Once again, you need to check the contact ratings.

You can't just install a 10 amp switch on a 15 or 20 amp circuit especially with motor operated equipment.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 08:02 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Emergency kill switch for workbench?


Those mushroom switches are used for motor controls and the like. They ARE NOT meant to be a disconnect or emergency switch by themselves.

Just get a regular 20A wall switch.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 08:04 PM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Emergency kill switch for workbench?


Huh. I stand corrected. I see they do have 20A continuous duty contact blocks for them.

I will say, their prices seem a bit outrageous!
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 08:09 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,051
Rewards Points: 504
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Emergency kill switch for workbench?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
I will say, their prices seem a bit outrageous!
Yeah it is!! I think I'd go another route.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 08:12 PM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Emergency kill switch for workbench?


Quote:
Originally Posted by wirenut1110 View Post
Yeah it is!! I think I'd go another route.

Like a wall switch. lol

Looking around, I think the 20A rated contacts might be only 24V. I don't see any switches like this for 120V/20A.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 10:10 PM   #11
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Emergency kill switch for workbench?


There is a better idea why not get a single pole contractor and have one or two mushroom E-stop switch wired in series that may work but I do not know how big the workbench have in your place.

Merci,
Marie et Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (09-02-2013)
Old 09-02-2013, 03:51 PM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,051
Rewards Points: 504
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Emergency kill switch for workbench?


Quote:
Originally Posted by wirenut1110 View Post
I would suggest a using a contactor or shunt trip and have your maintained mushroom switch operate those.
Gee, that was a better idea, wished I'd thunked it.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 03:53 PM   #13
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Emergency kill switch for workbench?


Personally I think this whole project is being way overthunk.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 04:08 PM   #14
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,051
Rewards Points: 504
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Emergency kill switch for workbench?


No doubt, just stick a receptacle tester in there that has the GFI tester in it, when there's an issue just press the little black button and the circuit will trip....lmao
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 04:10 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 167
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Emergency kill switch for workbench?


Just curious if something like this would work or if it is strictly for motors (guess I am asking for both you and I) http://www.amazon.com/Woodstock-D415...mp+kill+switch
or this
http://www.amazon.com/Woodstock-D415...ef=pd_sim_hi_1

Advertisement

diyer111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 way switch layout has me confused crescere Electrical 5 09-08-2012 11:26 AM
confused on switch replacement fullpint Electrical 6 07-11-2011 09:39 AM
Heat pump thermostat emergency switch joe913 HVAC 2 12-10-2009 01:54 PM
Replacing a bathroom fan switch cmacjr22 Electrical 4 11-04-2008 07:14 PM
Furnace Emergency Switch Placment arichard21 Electrical 2 01-21-2008 12:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts