Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-31-2012, 07:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: virginia
Posts: 13
Share |
Default

emergency generator power


I have a generator with a 30 amp twist lock connection, i plan to use that to feed a power inlet box rated at 30 amps on the out side of my home and from that run 10-2 to a inside outlet for use during a power outage, i am not hooking anything up to my panel. Question is do i need to use a 30 amp twist lock outlet or can i use a standard one on the inside. The only loads will be fridge,tv,a light or two and a fan.

drwheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 07:50 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,212
Default

emergency generator power


What is the NEMA # of the rececptacle?

bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 07:54 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: virginia
Posts: 13
Default

emergency generator power


the generator has a nema L14-30
drwheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 08:00 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,348
Default

emergency generator power


30 amp circuit can not have 15 or 20 amp receptacles on it. You will need a small panel dedicated to the generator with 15 or 20 amp breakers in it.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 08:07 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,212
Default

emergency generator power


You need a 10-3 w ground .
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 08:13 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: virginia
Posts: 13
Default

emergency generator power


just so i under stand, From the power inlet box i use 10-3 to a small panel with a 30amp main breaker and then use 15 or 20 amp circuits in that panel to feed what i want. And again no connections to the main panel will be made.
drwheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 08:33 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,212
Default

emergency generator power


check out breaker interlock kits. don't get in under your head.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 08:40 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: virginia
Posts: 13
Default

emergency generator power


its hard for me to in over my head, i have rewired my house. i will look into these interlock kits

Last edited by drwheels; 08-31-2012 at 09:16 PM.
drwheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 09:06 PM   #9
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

emergency generator power


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
check out breaker interlock kits. don't get in under your head.

I'll assume that's an expression....but I've never heard it before. "In over your head" yes, but not under.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 09:19 PM   #10
Member
 
kevinp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 323
Default

emergency generator power


Quote:
Originally Posted by drwheels View Post
its hard for me to in over my head, i have rewired my house. i will look into these interlock kits
I did the same thing but remember even with that accomplishment we still only know 1% of what there is to know, so we shouldnt get cocky
kevinp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kevinp22 For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (09-01-2012)
Old 08-31-2012, 09:28 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: virginia
Posts: 13
Default

emergency generator power


I know i don't know everything that is why i come here for any questions i have before doing it. Has anyone used a kit from http://www.interlockkit.com
drwheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 09:35 PM   #12
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

emergency generator power


Quote:
Originally Posted by drwheels View Post
And again no connections to the main panel will be made.
Is it that you don't want to connect to the main panel? There are small generator panels with the plugs installed that could allow you to use 6 to 10 breakers...depending on the size of the panel. Interlock kits work well, but with just a 30 amp connection you will be limited anyway to what you can run.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 10:30 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,838
Default

emergency generator power


Running the generator feed to a small indoor mounted breaker panel or portable breaker panel inside, completely separate from the main electrical system, is a reasonable way to go. It does require running extension cords, preferably heavy duty orange ones, from the small panel to the various appliances and equipment that will use the generator power.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound
Is it that you don't want to connect to the main panel?
The separate small panel avoids one technicality for which I openly advocate not striving to conform with the National Electric Code. Ground and neutral are supposed to be bonded together in one and only place in the building. I strongly suggest not modifying a generator in any way not sanctioned by its instructions. This may mean keeping neutral and ground bonded at the generator. And I strongly suggest not revamping the panel to have neutral and ground separated for the sole purpose of accommodating the generator (too big a project). Ergo in many situations neutral and ground remain bonded in both places with the homeowner usually not knowing about it or thinking about it. IMHO no hazard is created. (When the generator is unplugged and put away after utility power is restored, the problem of neutral and ground bonded in two places disappears.)
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 08-31-2012 at 10:44 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 06:42 AM   #14
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,632
Default

emergency generator power


Quote:
Originally Posted by drwheels View Post
Has anyone used a kit from http://www.interlockkit.com
Yes, I sell them a lot.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 07:19 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 35
Default

emergency generator power


The Interlock kits from interlockkits.com work fine, but they are expensive and they may not pass inspection in some places. Here in NJ I have had a problem with them a few times, and the word from the DCA is that they are not allowed since they are not listed for use with the panel.

So your best bet is to look for an Interlock kit from the manufacturer, it will cost much less ($40-80 instead of $150 from interlockkit.com) and it will be guaranteed to pass inspection.

As for the first post, if that is all you want to do, just use a good quality typical extension cord with a good 3-way adapater instead. No need to use the twistlock receptacle if you don't want to have it backfeed into your house and you'll only be running: "a fridge,tv,a light or two and a fan".

NECHater is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to NECHater For This Useful Post:
Auger01 (09-01-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oil Furnace Emergency shut off switch location? LarryNH914 HVAC 19 06-28-2012 02:47 PM
Commercial Building with 277 Volt Exit & Emergency Lights Perry401 Electrical 24 01-20-2012 08:33 AM
Upgraded to new Hunter model 44860 thermostat and now no emergency heat hlmaint HVAC 0 01-08-2010 01:17 PM
Aux and Emergency CPH settings indvid HVAC 2 03-02-2009 03:31 PM
Help..Emergency Heat Running All the Time KatieB HVAC 4 02-25-2009 04:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.