Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-24-2011, 01:59 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

eliminating an outlet


I have an outlet that I need to eliminate. It's at the end of a run.
Is it safe(and legal) to disconnect, wirenut/tape and leave the box
and wires in the wall. THEN.... cover it with a cabinet (ie. it will not be accessible, but it's also not a junction box)?

Thx in advance

tmorriss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 02:16 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,107
Rewards Points: 2,124
Default

eliminating an outlet


Find the other end of the wire and disconnect and wire nut. Remove receptacle, wire nut ends and install blank cover. A nice touch is to leave a note saying wire is abandoned and where the other end is located.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 03:54 PM   #3
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

eliminating an outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by tmorriss View Post
I have an outlet that I need to eliminate. It's at the end of a run.
Is it safe(and legal) to disconnect, wirenut/tape and leave the box
and wires in the wall. THEN.... cover it with a cabinet (ie. it will not be accessible, but it's also not a junction box)?

Thx in advance
No. You can not just cap it off and cover it. You need to find what box it connects to and disconnect it there. All boxes with live connections in them must remain accessible.
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 03:55 PM   #4
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 7
Default

eliminating an outlet


The wires must be terminated in a jBox. The jBox MUST be accessible. Nut, tape and wire as recommended.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 06:57 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,857
Rewards Points: 2,110
Default

eliminating an outlet


I would not even worry about the other end.
Wire nut the wires, put a blank cover on the box and cover with the cabinet.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switched Outlet Issue mjm Electrical 11 01-23-2011 07:41 AM
Changing Two Gang Outlet to Three Gang Outlet vbullinger Electrical 9 01-10-2011 05:13 PM
Wiring a GFCI Outdoor Outlet from an Inside Outlet - Parallel or Series? Pacal Electrical 28 11-13-2010 03:36 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 08:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.