Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-31-2012, 03:20 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Elictrical Problem Please Help

Hey everyone please help here.I have a older 2 wire home, My light in my kitchen has quit working, so I took it down and went to replace it with a nice new one. Problem... My wires are now only reading 40volts, I went to the switch that controls it, only has 2 wires the hot and other. They also only read 40 volts. Just to make sure I took my reader to one of my outlets in the wall and it reads 118 volts. So I have no idea whats going on here. Any help is appreciated. Thanks so much Austin

Ajw0079 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 03:49 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 0

I am not a professional electrician; rather an automotive technician for 26 years. It sounds to me like there is a voltage drop on the positive wire, possibly caused by a faulty fuse/circuit breaker, or bad connection in fusebox/circuit breaker box. Please have this checked by a professional electrician.

eric woodall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 04:21 PM   #3
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek

Rewards Points: 4

I would bet you are using a typical digital multimeter, right? If you turn the light switch on and measure the voltage across the fixture with a bulb in, I bet it reads close to zero, right? The 40V reading is most likely "phantom voltage" - induced voltages on unloaded wires that your extremely sensitive digital meter picks up. You would need an analog meter or a "low impedance" digital meter to avoid this problem, but once you understand it you can live with it. It sounds like the circuit is not getting power. Have you checked the breaker or fuse that serves this circuit? Are any other lights or receptacles not working?
Old 12-31-2012, 05:47 PM   #4

Rewards Points: 128