Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-01-2007, 09:32 PM   #1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Share |
Question

Electronics NOVICE


The game of 2-3 prong I have some questions. We all know its against code to switch from 2-3 prong without a ground. ... ....
The argument seems to be can you put a GFCI plug in a room, and have it protect the entire room or just that outlet.
There are millions of 1960 homes out there with no ground, Is it within code to replace every outlet in a home with GFCI, as opposed to rewiring the whole home?????????Anyone want to stand up on this one????????????????
PS There is a possibility many electricains will say rewire the whole house in favor of making money for themselves.

  Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 09:39 PM   #2
Remodeler
 
MinConst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spring Hill FL.
Posts: 436
Default

Electronics NOVICE


I am no sparky but I do not believe a GFCI will even work without a ground. I know it will not test but am not sure if the protection will be there.
As for replacing all outlets in a home with GFCIs I doubt very much it would pass code.

__________________
Minichillo's Construction
I will never leave you hanging!
Web
One Man Shops
MinConst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 09:45 PM   #3
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Question

Electronics NOVICE


The even more question might be is a ground as vital as all may think. In the 1960s I dont recall mass deaths from electricution. Maybe some great mind could explain this to me, in a logical term I might be missing. I dont recall my family in the 1950s or 60s ever talking about the dangers of the no ground outlet. We vacuumed and it worked. NOONE DIED! Im still here today.....
Any realistic gamers want to reply on this. Not the angry young chumps who have no reason. I want fact please!!!!!!!!!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 10:03 PM   #4
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Electronics NOVICE


The Key of your statement being the words "NOT SURE IF THE PROTECTION WILL BE THERE". Yet anothe
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 10:03 PM   #5
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Electronics NOVICE


The Key of your statement being the words "NOT SURE IF THE PROTECTION WILL BE THERE". Yet another electrician willing to come forward
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 10:08 PM   #6
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Electronics NOVICE


Have a nice day
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 10:10 PM   #7
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,139
Default

Electronics NOVICE


Hi there

You abosulety could change every plug in your house, this would cost quite a bit of money but you would be doing it legal and safe. The only problem may be if you have split plugs in your kitchen, i don't think i have ever seen GFI that could handle two circuits, i could be wrong and would love to see one if they exist.

The whole thing witht the ground is the safety. Yes 30 yrs ago no one worried about ground, but no one also worried about seatbelts and i don't believe there was mass deaths from car accidents. Now a days most people won't get in a car with out putting the seatbelty on.

Someone found a safer way to do things and that worked itself into being the norm.

Another note, a GFI will work without ground, i beleive everything would work without a ground but once again your taking the safety device off your circuit.

Hope this helps clear it up

Darren
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 04:59 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Default

Electronics NOVICE


naifun, I may take you wrong but I sence some attitude. Did you really expect a slew of pro electricians to be up on a weeknight waiting to jump in on your question?

You can place one GfI as the first recepticle on each circuit and lable all the rest "no equipment ground" this is legal by code.

You could also put in GFI breakers and do the same thing with the lables.

The gfi will work, but you will not have an equipment ground.

Things that need a ground to work like surge arrestors, newer TVs Computers etc will be at risk for severe damage.

In addition if you use a cord connected tool or appliance that needs a ground you will not have one.

__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Novice question: Installing windows in wood sided home...(pic) Dr. Jim Building & Construction 5 07-06-2007 06:33 PM
Novice: Painting lighter colour over darker psd99 Painting 5 01-18-2006 08:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.