Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-01-2012, 03:07 PM   #1

Share |

Electronically Challenged - Motion Sensor Install

Hi Folks! Yes, I am a noob but not to user forums. I'm more of a classic BMW enthusiast and yet I still know squat about wiring. Here's my situation. My garage has no existing motion-sensor light and I want to install one due to our SUV getting ransacked recently. I have installed one before, but that was a long time ago and I had immediate access to a light-switch. This time I don't have that option. I only have reasonable access to a power outlet about three feet from the garage door. Can I still wire this in there? OR! Better yet. Can I replace that socket with one that has a socket AND a light switch combined? I don't know if they even make those, but it was a thought. That way I'd have a way to hardwire in my motion sensor light and still have a socket there for my workbench. If that IS an option, how hard is that to switch out?

Thanks for yout input!

~David

Bimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 03:21 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician

Yes, they do make such a thing. But why not just add another box with a switch for the light? Wire it from the outlet to the switch and then on to the light.

Where are you located?

Old 10-01-2012, 03:24 PM   #3
Too Short? Cut it Again!

Maybe I am not grasping the depth of your prevention scheme. Didn't the vehicle have an alarm system? If it did and it screamed, lights blinked, and nobody came what do you expect to gain by adding a motion sensor to the situation.

And you are saying there are no outside lights near your garage or driveway at all. Strikes me as weird.

Last edited by user1007; 10-01-2012 at 03:29 PM.
user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 03:36 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdsester View Post