Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-24-2011, 11:13 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 84
Share |
Default

electrolosis?


One of the copper pipes in my house sprung a leak and I called the plumber to fix it and he said that it had electrolosis on it which is cause by electricity going through the pipe and it must be a ground wire. The house has old knob and tube wiring so there is no ground that I know of. The panel isn't grounded to the water line only to the earth. My question is what could it be that's grounded or how could it be grounded to the pipe. Why would it be grounded from somewhere else besides the panel. Thank you
If you have any questions because I wasn't clear please ask

jmans8666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 11:40 PM   #2
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,531
Default

electrolosis?


The electrolysis problem is not likely to be caused by utility power. It's caused by connections between iron and copper pipes without galvanic isolation. Since you said the house is quite old, it's likely that you have some iron pipe in there somewhere. Probably quite a bit of it. The details of how to solve these problems are a bit outside my normal plumbing knowledge, but a good plumber who works on old houses regularly can help.

mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mpoulton For This Useful Post:
Code05 (08-24-2011)
Old 08-24-2011, 11:41 PM   #3
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

electrolosis?


Bull pucky. Plumber is full of it.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
NJMarine (08-25-2011)
Old 08-25-2011, 12:57 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 84
Default

electrolosis?


Well my father did say he got rid of the iron pipes as much as he could with out ripping out the walls so there is only iron pipes up stairs. So what is needed to fix this.
jmans8666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 01:14 PM   #5
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

electrolosis?


I do not know about plumbing problems, but is the main water supply to the house copper or iron by chance?
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 02:55 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 84
Default

electrolosis?


The main supply is all copper the plumbing was redone to as new as possible without taking down walls. So anything that is behind a wall is iron. The whole basement is copper pipe
jmans8666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 08:04 PM   #7
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

electrolosis?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jmans8666 View Post
The main supply is all copper the plumbing was redone to as new as possible without taking down walls. So anything that is behind a wall is iron. The whole basement is copper pipe
If you do not have a bond/ground wire between the panel and water supply pipe, you need a wire within 5 feet of where it enters the house. If you have a water filter or any plastic or such, then you have to install jumper wires around.

Some areas require that a jumper wire wire be installed at the water heater between the hot and cold pipes.

What size is your panel main breaker/service?
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 10:41 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 84
Default

electrolosis?


So all I need to do is ground the water line from the panel and it will fix this? It's a 200 I think ill check when I get the chance
jmans8666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 08:07 AM   #9
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

electrolosis?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jmans8666 View Post
So all I need to do is ground the water line from the panel and it will fix this? It's a 200 I think ill check when I get the chance

The ground wire to the water line will fix your electrical violation, it will not help with your leaking pipes.

You need a #4 copper wire attached to the pipe within 5 feet of where it enters the house. You will need a jumper across a plastic whole house filter if you have one

Some areas also require a jumper between the hot and cold at the water heater.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 12:19 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 84
Default

electrolosis?


Okay well I figured it should have been grounded to the water line but does anyone know what will fix the pipes
jmans8666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 12:24 PM   #11
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

electrolosis?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jmans8666 View Post
Okay well I figured it should have been grounded to the water line but does anyone know what will fix the pipes
This is the electrical section. Post your question in the plumbing.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 01:46 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 84
Default

electrolosis?


I post it in electrical because of what the plumber told me
jmans8666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 02:09 PM   #13
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,408
Default

electrolosis?


What does this post have to do about hair removal?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 08:39 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 84
Default

electrolosis?


Lol funny just the plumber told me I had a bad ground or something and it was causing leaks

jmans8666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.