Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-11-2009, 10:15 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

electrics in Barbados


Could anyone explain if its o.k to buy table lamps in u.k and use them in Barbados after changing the bulb to 110 volt and changing the plug to a barbados one , also is it the same for light fitting to be used there after buying here once again changing the bulbs to 110 volt they are on 50 cycle but that means nothing to me , its sounds an easy question but no one seems to be able to give me a firm answer i cant see any probs but can anyone else?

MOGLazing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 12:01 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,838
Default

electrics in Barbados


The light fixture taking an ordinary incandescent bulb will work just fine at the lower voltage and different AC frequency.

Non-incandecent fixtures and also compact fluorescent bulbs substituted for an incandescent, must be rated for the voltage and AC frequency being used.

Going the other way, namely a 110 volt fixture being used on 220 volts, it is a little tricky. Here the fixture itself must also be rated for 220 volts (most are). A minor difference, say using 240 instead of 220 volts, does not matter.

__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 08-11-2009 at 12:07 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 12:22 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

electrics in Barbados


The lifetime of incands. is very sensitive to applied voltage [less so for brightness] so if your power is erratic I'd get lamps rated at higher than expected voltage and live with the reduced brightness.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 01:12 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Default

electrics in Barbados


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
The lifetime of incands. is very sensitive to applied voltage [less so for brightness] so if your power is erratic I'd get lamps rated at higher than expected voltage and live with the reduced brightness.

many thanks would you use 240 volt bulbs in a 110 volt supply ..is that o.k ? i assume the light given out will be something like 1/2 what it should be
MOGLazing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 07:45 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

electrics in Barbados


Quote:
Originally Posted by MOGLazing View Post
many thanks would you use 240 volt bulbs in a 110 volt supply ..is that o.k ? i assume the light given out will be something like 1/2 what it should be
Nah, you'll get almost no light.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Summer House Electrics stu_bill Electrical 9 07-31-2008 10:17 AM
Old electrics & new light fitting - please help! melreed Electrical 3 07-24-2008 10:27 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.