Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-02-2010, 09:11 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

electricity out in garage????


Tried using outlet in garage today and had no power. so i tried different outlet same problem. checked gcfi outlets and no light saying they are tripped no power figure breaker tripped. so i go in basement and check breaker and it is not tripped. so i flick breaker off then back on and go back out to check and still no power. this is an old house built in 1928 has 3 lines that run overhead off of back porch to garage for power lines. there was power in garage yesterday and i have not used any outlet except for trying to plug something in today. the garage is not the only thing running off of the breaker a bathroom light and a cpl basement lights run off of same breaker in basement. when the garage had no power the bathroom and basement lights still work no problem so i assume my problem is going to be somewhere from lines running from house to garage or somewhere in garage. any help suggestions greatly appreciated
a68cudas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 09:36 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

electricity out in garage????


Do you have a meter to measure for power ?
Do you have power at the 1st connection where it enters the garage ?
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2010, 02:19 AM   #3
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Default

electricity out in garage????


Or at the point it leaves the house to the overhead run to the garage.

Just thought of something else. Light on GFI will go out if GFI trips. Try reset button on outlet.
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2010, 09:26 AM   #4
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

electricity out in garage????


Quote:
Originally Posted by goose134 View Post
Just thought of something else. Light on GFI will go out if GFI trips. Try reset button on outlet.
Not always. Some GFI's light will come on when tripped...assuming it has power coming in, in the first place.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2010, 11:58 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Default

electricity out in garage????


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Do you have a meter to measure for power ?
Do you have power at the 1st connection where it enters the garage ?

yes i have a meter. havent checked anything yet. about to turn breaker back on and check and see if have power at 1st connection. planned on checking the outlets for loose connections as well
a68cudas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2010, 12:48 PM   #6
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

electricity out in garage????


Quote:
Originally Posted by a68cudas View Post
yes i have a meter. havent checked anything yet. about to turn breaker back on and check and see if have power at 1st connection. planned on checking the outlets for loose connections as well
are there any joints in the overhead lines that feed the garage? That is a great source of problems.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2010, 11:34 AM   #7
Master Electrician
 
pesdfw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 1
Default

electricity out in garage????


Pull the GFI out of the wall and check to see if you have power on the "Line" side of the plug between hot (black) and neutral (white). If you do and it won't reset .. bad GFI. If it tries to reset and trips back then it's doing its job and you have a problem somewhere down the circuit. If there is no power you either have a bad breaker or a problem with the wire going from the panel to the GFI.
pesdfw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The 12-Gauge Garage Jack Olsen Project Showcase 28 07-08-2012 10:21 PM
Raising up my garage jimmyfloyd Building & Construction 5 09-17-2009 10:39 PM
electricity from house to garage J MAC Electrical 19 07-05-2009 06:19 PM
Garage Wiring issues jimmyfloyd Electrical 20 06-08-2009 02:57 PM
Electricity in the Garage Firsthome2007 Electrical 4 11-19-2008 09:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.