Electricity Not Working - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-07-2008, 08:12 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electricity not working


Any ideas about why the electricty in only my guest room isn't working? Could it be a fuse? The breaker box appears fine. Quick/inexpensive fix for it?

Advertisement

southern no more is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 08:36 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Electricity not working


Check your bathroom GFI's.

Advertisement

jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 10:44 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Electricity not working


The appearance of your breaker panel does not mean that one or more breakers are tripped. Turn breaker all the way off, then back on. You should hear a click when you reset it. Check all of them if you do not know which one feeds the guest room.

If none of the breakers are tripped follow jerry's suggestion and check all GFCI's in the house and make sure none have tripped. Push the trip button first, then push the reset button. You should also hear an audible click when resetting the GFCI.

If it is not any of the GFCI's or a tripped breaker it could be a loose or broken wire or cable. If you feel comfortable working on this project you can try to find the receptacle or cable from the main panel that feeds the guest room. Take a lamp or something to plug into the receptacles. Start checking each one until you find one that does not work. This will give you a place to start. Open receptacle boxes and possibly light fixture boxes and look for a disconnected or loose wire. Trial and error type testing. I would highly suggest you turn off all the power after you have found the starting point.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 10:47 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electricity not working


Thank you for the ideas. I will check into them!
southern no more is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 08:59 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Electricity not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by southern no more View Post
Any ideas about why the electricty in only my guest room isn't working? Could it be a fuse? The breaker box appears fine. Quick/inexpensive fix for it?

When was your house built? Has their been any updates? Especially in the late 60's and early 70's. Check receptacles for push ins or backstabbing.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 04:36 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 308
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Electricity not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
When was your house built? Has their been any updates? Especially in the late 60's and early 70's. Check receptacles for push ins or backstabbing.
Oh, how I loathe those "quick-connect" push-ins. The only back-wired I will ever use are the ones where you still need to tighten the screws. I prefer side wired in any case.

FW
fw2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 04:39 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 308
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Electricity not working


Don't forget that there could also be a "junction box" with a broken/ pulled out wire.
That may be in your basement, attic, or crawl space.

FW
fw2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 05:40 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Electricity not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by fw2007 View Post
Oh, how I loathe those "quick-connect" push-ins. The only back-wired I will ever use are the ones where you still need to tighten the screws. I prefer side wired in any case.

FW

....I spent an hour fixing my basement from those. Then noticed my heavy load outlets were old and needed new ones...I went with levition commercial grade receptacles. That outlet only has the backwired terminals with the clamp not the easy push ins. But I still use the screws....

Advertisement

rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Washer Chem Feed Not Working robertr4836 Tools 11 11-24-2012 09:43 PM
Inside Fan not working BenH HVAC 20 07-08-2008 07:10 AM
Working with granite... SDeeter19464 Remodeling 5 06-14-2008 06:51 AM
GE fridge evaporator fan change and still not working Trish Appliances 2 03-30-2008 02:47 PM
Furnace stops working once a day - help Da_Bears HVAC 2 01-26-2006 02:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts