Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-19-2014, 08:46 AM   #31
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electricity but no light


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Were those 2 wires in the switch box connected to the switch when you took it out?

Reason I'm asking is if you can operate a light bulb (normal brightness) from those wires then you have a incoming hot and incoming neutral wire. If that is the case when you operate the switch it would be a dead short and a fuse should blow or breaker should trip.
Yes, the two wires in the box were connected to a switch. I could try testing again by going through the switch, but I do not have enough bits of wire available for that kind of rig up. I will go look for some wire and try to pass this through the switch and let you know what happens.

Thanks!!

takingtoolong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 08:51 AM   #32
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,042
Rewards Points: 2,054
Default

Electricity but no light


Quote:
Originally Posted by takingtoolong View Post
Yes, the two wires in the box were connected to a switch. I could try testing again by going through the switch, but I do not have enough bits of wire available for that kind of rig up. I will go look for some wire and try to pass this through the switch and let you know what happens.

Thanks!!
If they were connected to the switch wouldn't you have done that already? Something is missing
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 02-19-2014 at 08:55 AM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 08:59 AM   #33
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,042
Rewards Points: 2,054
Default

Electricity but no light


Quote:
Originally Posted by takingtoolong View Post
Yes, the two wires in the box were connected to a switch. I could try testing again by going through the switch, but I do not have enough bits of wire available for that kind of rig up. I will go look for some wire and try to pass this through the switch and let you know what happens.

Thanks!!
I'd rather you do not do that till we figure out what is missing. You actually need to try and find access so you can see how these wires are run. Is there anyone you can call that understands things a bit better that can help you?
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 11:18 PM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,594
Rewards Points: 2,148
Default

Electricity but no light


Quote:
Originally Posted by takingtoolong View Post
I live in an old house. I cannot see a neutral or ground wire in this box or light fixture. Light does not work. Electronic tester says that there is electricity everywhere, including on the entire lamp. I can touch, without feeling a thing. No other tester, so I cannot tell what the voltage is. Please see pics. Help much appreciated!

How do I fix this?
If your non contact tester is telling you that there is electricity everywhere ? But the light doesn't work, then you have probably lost your neutral.

But tracing K & T wiring can be a royal PITA !
And moving old wiring around can cause problems with
the insulation cracking and falling off !
Probably a bad splice or damaged cable.
I suggest that you read up on K & T wiring,
So you know what your up against !

dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Light fan burn out, wall switch backwards later LOYD DUNCAN Electrical 1 09-18-2012 06:49 AM
Please Help! 3 way switches controling 2 light fxtures. HelloMotto Electrical 50 09-01-2009 08:20 PM
Marmoleum repairs muggyfrost Flooring 8 10-16-2008 08:19 PM
Pilot light button on furnace won't turn whydonchathen HVAC 5 10-05-2008 11:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.