Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-16-2008, 12:02 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Share |
Default

electricity 750 ft away!?


Hey so I need to get electricity up to my kid's tree house which is 750 ft away from our house. I was looking into 3, 250 ft. 8-gauge wires to make it work but am not sure if it would work. Will the current stay strong enough to keep some lights lit if it it plugged into a standard outlet 750 feet away? Thanks in advance for any help. Cheers.

needshelp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 12:12 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

electricity 750 ft away!?


Someone else can help you with the voltage drop calculations, but I would definitely not be considering just plugging this into an outlet on your house. I would hard-wire it direct into the panel, of course making sure this circuit is GFCI protected. If you want you can always put in a disconnect switch near where it exits the house to shut off power to the tree house when its not in use (or to signal the kids to come in for dinner, haha).

You will need to post what kinda things would be in use in said tree house and what your looking at for total power draw. This will have a big factor in how big the wire will need to be to maintain voltage at that distance. Though in all honesty, it probably isnt a huge deal if there is some minimal voltage drop to a kids tree house, but think about what you might use that circuit for once the kids are gone.

theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 12:16 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 40
Default

electricity 750 ft away!?


just lights? The problem with long electrical runs and voltage drop is its toll on electrical equipment. If you are just using incidacent light bulbs save the money and run 14 gauge. The lights won't burn as bright, but they will actually last longer.

here is actually a pretty nice worksheet for such
http://www.electrician2.com/calculat...r_initial.html
joey b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 12:20 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 40
Default

electricity 750 ft away!?


I 2nd the idea of a light switch inside and running directly from the circuit panel. Might not even be a bad idea to wire up a couple of light posts along the way off of the same stretch. If you get 250' rolls, you could easily put in 2 and have a safe connection. make sure that the run is GFCI inside of the house.
joey b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 12:26 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

electricity 750 ft away!?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joey b View Post
just lights? The problem with long electrical runs and voltage drop is its toll on electrical equipment. If you are just using incidacent light bulbs save the money and run 14 gauge. The lights won't burn as bright, but they will actually last longer.

here is actually a pretty nice worksheet for such
http://www.electrician2.com/calculat...r_initial.html
That is a decent calculator! Personally a run that long I wouldn't be looking to run anything less than 10 gauge; even if it is just a couple lights. Also, how far is it from the tree house to the main panel, not just to the house?

You could always run a MWBC (Multi-Wire Branch Circuit) with 2 20amp circuits one for lights and one for outlets on 10 gauge wire and that would probably be adequate. Minimal voltage drop with lights and some light-weight appliances (tv, game system, stereo, etc) with out effecting the lights (two separate circuits).
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 12:52 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Default

electricity 750 ft away!?


Wow thanks for the quick response guys. What panel are you referring to? I would have no idea how to hard wire it! The total wattage needed would be about 400 I am guesstimating. My wife wants them to be able to hang out up there as much as they want this summer so she can focus on work! HAHA.
needshelp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 01:05 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

electricity 750 ft away!?


I don't think running this underground just to plug into an outlet is such a good idea! You never know what else is on the circuit and with that long of a run its best that it has its very own dedicated circuit. The panel we are talking about is your main service panel, where all your house's power is distributed from.

It might be worth talking with a local electrician to help wire this up for you. Alot of times you can save yourself a lot of money by digging the trench yourself (make sure its at the proper depth for the type of wire being used).

Most electricians will not just simply hook up wire that you the homeowner ran and buried, they don't want to be liable for something they didn't run. So before you start purchasing wire and boxes, etc call around and tell them what you are looking to do. This will be a fairly simple job never mind the extreme length of the run....
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 04:38 AM   #8
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

electricity 750 ft away!?


I would run 3 wire UF as a multi wire branch circuit as was mentioned. This gives you two 120-volt circuits, and if the need comes up you could use it as 240volts instead.

About gauge, you can use 8/3 UF, but it going to be expensive. I would not use 12 gauge for the main run, the voltage drop is too high. 10 gauge is a possiblity, but I would try to keep the load under 10 amps on both sides of the circuit. No matter what gauge you choose buy a 1000 foot spool, it'll cost less than buying smaller increments, even though it's more than you need. You can sell the extra 250 feet easily I'm sure. You can change it to 12 gauge once you come up from the ground, to make it easier to wire outlets and fixtures. Most outlets and fixtures are not designed for 8 gauge or 10 gauge wire.

UF is rated for direct burial but the trench needs to be deep enough, 24 inches deep. You will want to rent a trenching machine definitely. You should call Miss Utility or whatever it's called in your areas unless you are absolutely sure there's nothing else buried along the entire path. Where it comes up from the trench you need to have it in conduit, but not for the main length with UF rated cable.

Then you need a 2-pole 20amp breaker and two empty slots in your main circuit breaker panel.

The wire alone is going to cost about $500-$600... plus the trenching machine rental.. and then maybe $100 for assorted other things and the breaker. You are looking at about $750 total in just materials for doing it yourself.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 05:43 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Default

electricity 750 ft away!?


I dont know what state u r al frm but i would just give them a flash light or go with low voltage lighting. They r kids and no matter what they get they will want more if u give it 2 them or figure how 2 get it. didnt u!
cantre44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 05:45 AM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,801
Default

electricity 750 ft away!?


Quote:
Originally Posted by needshelp View Post
Wow thanks for the quick response guys. What panel are you referring to? I would have no idea how to hard wire it!
This is the perfect time to call an electrician. Seriously.
This is NOT as simple as it might seem.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 07:13 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

electricity 750 ft away!?


Quote:
Originally Posted by cantre44 View Post
I dont know what state u r al frm but i would just give them a flash light or go with low voltage lighting. They r kids and no matter what they get they will want more if u give it 2 them or figure how 2 get it. didnt u!
This isn't a text message. You may want to use proper English if you want to be taken seriously.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 07:15 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

electricity 750 ft away!?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
This is NOT as simple as it might seem.
I don't know what these other guys are talking about, but what about the trench he would have to dig...not simple at all. Or cheap...
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 07:17 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Default

electricity 750 ft away!?


SORRY..I AM NEW AT THIS PAGE AND JUST TRING TO HELP OUT! and u
cantre44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 07:27 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Default

electricity 750 ft away!?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post
This isn't a text message. You may want to use proper English if you want to be taken seriously.
what state are you all from
cantre44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 07:37 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

electricity 750 ft away!?


Quote:
Originally Posted by cantre44 View Post
SORRY..I AM NEW AT THIS PAGE AND JUST TRING TO HELP OUT! and u
Sorry. Nothing Personal. Just a major hangup of mine. Other than that, welcome to the forum.

jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
distance


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Figuring out AC's electricity use iamserious HVAC 5 10-28-2008 06:56 AM
Electricity to barn Sherdogmma2010 Electrical 12 09-05-2008 06:29 PM
Electricity use 60 inch LCD vs 35 inch CRT? Changeling Home Theater 5 06-22-2008 09:10 AM
No electricity after turning breaker back on! Need sage advice! safeTfirst Electrical 2 06-15-2008 03:58 PM
Old A/C use more electricity than old A/C? clue89 Electrical 4 03-02-2007 04:47 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.