Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-15-2008, 10:18 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Question

Electricians or know-how only


I need some advice with hooking up light bulbs to my ballasts. If you can help me, please email me at krankzor@hotmail.com

Ultimate_balance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 10:54 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Electricians or know-how only


Every ballast I've ever installed or replaced had the wiring diagram right on the face of the ballast (unless it was super old and had the diagram worn off, but then again it was being replaced). Each ballast is designed for different bulbs and different configurations, you just got to find the one that works for you.

Good luck getting anyone to email you, besides its better to keep it here on the forums, where you get several people to chime in with their opinion.

theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 11:01 PM   #3
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,015
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Electricians or know-how only


HMMMMM.....the last guy that want us to e-mail him how to hook up his bulbs to ballasts was using grow lights......for.....

Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 02:42 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Electricians or know-how only


i am hooking up 8 -18 watt bulbs in my basement, i dont know why you would accuse me of that, but if you want to help please feel free to email me... if i dont find a solution here ill probably find a professional to do it.
Ultimate_balance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 05:05 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 223
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electricians or know-how only


Ultimate_balance, I don't think stubbie was accusing you of anything. He was just joking. The reason we use this type of format instead of email is, it allows others to see a possible solution to their problems. Did the fixture in question already have ballasts? How many bulbs per fixture? pete
petey_c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 11:10 AM   #6
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,015
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Electricians or know-how only


Yeah it was just a rib.... we have that happen from time to time. So exactly what are you doing...building your own design or is this a factory set-up? Very few people will respond to e-mail requests.... me being one of them.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 11:14 AM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,794
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Electricians or know-how only


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Yeah it was just a rib.... we have that happen from time to time. So exactly what are you doing...building your own design or is this a factory set-up? Very few people will respond to e-mail requests.... me being one of them.
And me another one.

Just state inside the forum what you are trying to do, and you will get the answers you want!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 12:35 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 0
Post

Electricians or know-how only


well its 4 bulbs to a fixture, about a 100 feet of cable but the only problem is.... i still need to buy lampholders. ok i have never worked with ballasts before so how and where do i put them? http://www.fulham.com/images/WDgifs/wire7.gif
thats my diagram
Ultimate_balance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 01:21 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 0
Question

Electricians or know-how only


also, when i go hook this up to power there is a small problem, the cables would have to run from one end of the room to the other for my other ballast, is there any way i can hook both ballasts to the same power cable?
Ultimate_balance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 03:49 PM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,847
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Electricians or know-how only


Ultimate, I can't tell if you are being intentionally vague or you just can't put into words what you are doing.

Is this a real fixture?
Did you build a fixture of some sort?
What is 100' of cable???


PLEASE, try to describe what you are doing?
If this goes on the way it started I think a professional might be in your best interest.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 04:21 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 0
Post

Electricians or know-how only


I am sorry, let me clarify some things up. I have a ballast that has the capacity to hold 4 18watters (so i've been told), these 18 watt bulbs are 4 pin, which leaves me with a bit of a problem when i try to hook them up (need to match the right cables to the right pins - but i will most likely buy the lampsholders that are so very impossible to find, again for the 4 pin bulb). I only have one power source, the other one is located across the room. I had a question if its possible to hook both of my ballasts to the same power source or do I have to drag wire across the room to hook it up to the next available one (120V). Its really the simple things, but I don't want to make a mistake so I am consulting you guys for help. I hope this clears things up.
Ultimate_balance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 04:27 PM   #12
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,847
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Electricians or know-how only


Yes, you can use one power source for both ballasts, but WHERE will these ballasts be mounted???
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 06:07 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 886
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Electricians or know-how only


sounds like you want to make your own light fixtures.

Ballasts even your electronic units need to be mounted and enclosed properly.

Get some sheet metal. bend and rivet etc.
get the proper lamp holders.... attach securely to non combustible surface with proper spacing from combustables.
wires should have rated sheathing or metal wire way.

You can remote the ballast..distance?..check the forham site for specs on the ballast you have.

Please be safe.


IF this is a fun hobby thing...ok... it might be cheaper to find a damaged fixture on sale some place as a sorce for parts.

Last edited by Big Bob; 08-16-2008 at 06:15 PM.
Big Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 07:14 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 0
Smile

Electricians or know-how only


Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Bob View Post
sounds like you want to make your own light fixtures.

Ballasts even your electronic units need to be mounted and enclosed properly.

Get some sheet metal. bend and rivet etc.
get the proper lamp holders.... attach securely to non combustible surface with proper spacing from combustables.
wires should have rated sheathing or metal wire way.

You can remote the ballast..distance?..check the forham site for specs on the ballast you have.

Please be safe.


IF this is a fun hobby thing...ok... it might be cheaper to find a damaged fixture on sale some place as a sorce for parts.
this is the answer i was looking for! thank you sir!
Ultimate_balance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 08:29 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 0
Question

Electricians or know-how only


Do I need a "starter" for compact fluorescent? If not, then what does a starter do? (Yes now I understand how to build a fixture)

Ultimate_balance is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Tub/Spa Installation BigA Electrical 6 03-11-2010 08:12 PM
Brewers, Electricians, lend me your ear! GFCI problem aekdbbop Electrical 5 06-16-2008 04:14 PM
What are the requirements I must do to get electricians license Kraze Electrical 16 08-28-2007 08:00 PM
Any electricians out there? Panel upgrade! roncon Electrical 1 06-19-2005 12:38 PM
any real electricians out there ayoung Electrical 8 04-22-2005 06:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.