Is This Electrician Trying To Rip Me Off? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-28-2009, 01:51 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Is this electrician trying to rip me off?


The reason I'm asking is because it sounded to me as if he was just making prices up. He kept changing his prices from one thing to another, just adding $50 here or $100 there.

I'm immigrating so I don't *really* yet know labour costs etc. That's why I'm checking here.

Here are some price quotes with specifics.

1. FPE breaker box: Replace 3 breakers - $450.
2. (OR) Replace FPE breaker box (100 AMP) with newer type (100 AMP). - $900.
3. Three GFCI outlets in the kitchen (converted from non GFCI) - $225.
4. There is a GFCI in the bathoom but when it trips the lounge ceiling fan also goed, so these need to be seperated using the same plug but that it not trip the ceiling fan - $75.
5. Grease outside aluminum wires - $50.
6. Add a switch for the dishwasher outlet that's usable above the dishwasher to turn it on/off - $150.

Let me know

Thanks for all replies

Advertisement

tertius is offline  
Old 09-28-2009, 02:10 PM   #2
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post

Is this electrician trying to rip me off?


  • Prices Not All Bad! Panel change good .The only thing i would try to get him to throw in the #5. Grease outside aluminum wires - $50. thats all i can find. Everything else looks about right.

Advertisement

300zx is offline  
Old 09-28-2009, 03:19 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,965
Rewards Points: 2,326
Default

Is this electrician trying to rip me off?


#2 sounds like a great price!!
The rest seem inline with what I would preceive the work to be.

Is he licensed and insured?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline  
Old 09-28-2009, 04:03 PM   #4
Member
 
WaldenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Nassau, Long Island, NY
Posts: 349
Rewards Points: 268
Default

Is this electrician trying to rip me off?


Not sure where you're located, but for Long Island, NY those would be steals!

I will say that #3 is likely a DIY job (if you're comfortable w/that), I don't see a problem w/#4, the GFCI breaks and the ceiling fan goes out, so what? That shouldn't happen often, or you have a larger problem. And I'm not sure I understand #6, you want to add a switch to your dishwasher?
WaldenL is offline  
Old 09-28-2009, 07:32 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 2,051
Rewards Points: 1,022
Default

Is this electrician trying to rip me off?


#3 seems a bit high to me; 3 GFCIs for $225? That's $70 each for a $10 part and five minutes of labor a piece. Perhaps the cover plates are pricey?
#1 also seems high for the same reason. About 5 minutes per breaker labor. You didn't state what kind of breakers are being replaced so the parts' cost could be a bit higher. Still, at $150 per breaker, I'd do that job all day long.
bob22 is offline  
Old 09-28-2009, 07:56 PM   #6
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post

Is this electrician trying to rip me off?


Quote:
Originally Posted by bob22 View Post
#3 seems a bit high to me; 3 GFCIs for $225? That's $70 each for a $10 part and five minutes of labor a piece. Perhaps the cover plates are pricey?
#1 also seems high for the same reason. About 5 minutes per breaker labor. You didn't state what kind of breakers are being replaced so the parts' cost could be a bit higher. Still, at $150 per breaker, I'd do that job all day long.
It's not the price of the material! It's the price of Running a Business! Time,Gas,Insurance, so on......
300zx is offline  
Old 09-28-2009, 08:05 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Is this electrician trying to rip me off?


We're located in Houston, TX.

Is $900 really a good price to replace it?

#3 for DIY - Yes I'm comfortable with that. Turn off at the breakers and test for current and then replace. Should be fine. It's just an outlet that I need to buy and put on right?

#6 Dishwasher switch - This seems like a "code" thing. The dishwasher should be able to be turned off from a visible point for servicing.

#1 The breakers aren't made any more so it's hard to get the parts.

What I really want to know is if #2, the bigger expense is priced correctly. Maybe I should just give some electricians a call locally and find out.

Thanks for the help so far guys!
tertius is offline  
Old 09-28-2009, 08:08 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Is this electrician trying to rip me off?


I'd swap out the panel
Get 3 estimates & check references is the normal path to follow

If there is ANY chance you will upgrade to a 200a feed look into having a 200a panel installed
You can still have it fed with the 100a

I'd ask the cost difference between a 100a & 200a panel
--only the panel - not a service upgrade
Scuba_Dave is offline  
Old 09-28-2009, 08:38 PM   #9
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Is this electrician trying to rip me off?


Quote:
Originally Posted by tertius View Post
The reason I'm asking is because it sounded to me as if he was just making prices up. He kept changing his prices from one thing to another, just adding $50 here or $100 there.

I'm immigrating so I don't *really* yet know labour costs etc. That's why I'm checking here.

Here are some price quotes with specifics.

1. FPE breaker box: Replace 3 breakers - $450.
2. (OR) Replace FPE breaker box (100 AMP) with newer type (100 AMP). - $900.
3. Three GFCI outlets in the kitchen (converted from non GFCI) - $225.
4. There is a GFCI in the bathoom but when it trips the lounge ceiling fan also goed, so these need to be seperated using the same plug but that it not trip the ceiling fan - $75.
5. Grease outside aluminum wires - $50.
6. Add a switch for the dishwasher outlet that's usable above the dishwasher to turn it on/off - $150.

Let me know

Thanks for all replies
Here is my run down from my point of bussiness which I done all the time and keep in your mind my price is up in northen plains the price may be different than what you have in Texas is.

#1 ditch the FPE breakers they are not worth a hoot to find them.

#2 that pretty cheap price compared what I charge my 100 amp service upgrading will included new meter socket and riser if overhead.

#3 that little high but I don't know what the labour rate in Texas going on { see my comment on the bottom }

#4 it may have local code issue with the set up with it but with general lighting circuit useally not GFCI unless stated in the NEC code in spefic area.

#5 That question kinda bother me { see below comment }

#6 That is mantory code requirement if your dishwasher do not have " off " marking on the timer dail or touch button control { that mantory automatic switch requirement }

Now for the #3 comment part if you are very able you can able install the GFCI yourself or let a electrician do this for you but that price I kinda hard to say but you have to understand that all the legit electrician have to pay for permit and some will included the list price in there and some will listed seperated mine part it automatic included permit fees in there.

The other part about greasing alum conductors some case yes and some case no just replace it as you will see why if you upgrade the panel.

For me useing the 200 amp panel with 100 amp service that is not a very good combation to use at all unless you have backfeeded locked down 100amp breaker next to it.

Most homeowner I deal most useally asked me to go with 200 amp without second thought after I qouted the price between the two diffrent size and also it will help the house resale value a bit.

And I don't know why the electrician did not mention few more details in the list like new grounding conductor and new ground rods that is my SOP to do that all the time. { that will included the price list }

Finally my last part here to advoid any conflects with price I will not list the price in here per DIY fourm regulations.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline  
Old 09-28-2009, 09:54 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Is this electrician trying to rip me off?


We're getting a condo so there is very little chance that we will be upgrading to 200a.

#5 is for outside the condo not inside the panel in the condo.

About #6: Can you show me the code requirement for it so that I can read it myself?
tertius is offline  
Old 09-28-2009, 10:12 PM   #11
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Is this electrician trying to rip me off?


Speaking of condo that will be little more tougher but do you have any type of condo assocations that do help with this matter ?
{ sorry for getting off track for a minute but suggest a idea it may help you on something }


Speaking of dishwasher switch I know it is in NEC code but excat art number which I don't recall it due I left the NEC code book at the shop.

I know one of our readers here is electrician and I think they will be more than happy to cite you a code number to you look up with it.

Some will be on 2005 and some willbe on 2008 code myself I am on 2008 plus French code as well.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline  
Old 09-28-2009, 10:48 PM   #12
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Is this electrician trying to rip me off?


This is a DIY site, and isn't a suitable forum for seeking answers regarding the value of contractors' prices to do work in your home. When in doubt, it is always best to get multiple bids for the work.
Termite is offline  
Old 09-28-2009, 10:49 PM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,965
Rewards Points: 2,326
Default

Is this electrician trying to rip me off?


If it was wired to code when the condo was built, I don't think that the disconnect switch for the dishwasher will be required.
Of course, local codes may vary.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline  
Old 09-29-2009, 01:11 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Is this electrician trying to rip me off?


Thanks thekctermite. I'll keep that in mind in the future.

The condo was built in 1984 so it was probably to code then, it's not up to code right now.

@frenchelectrican: I don't think we'll ever need 200A so I'm not even worrying about this.
tertius is offline  
Old 09-29-2009, 06:48 AM   #15
Member
 
WaldenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Nassau, Long Island, NY
Posts: 349
Rewards Points: 268
Default

Is this electrician trying to rip me off?


Quote:
Originally Posted by tertius View Post
The condo was built in 1984 so it was probably to code then, it's not up to code right now.
Remember, the code tells you how you should have to build something today, it doesn't say you need to retrofit your house to meet today's code (thank god). Of course there's nothing wrong with doing so, especially if you're a bored DIYer but don't feel compelled to upgrade something just because it's not now up to code -- serious safety issues not withstanding.

Advertisement

WaldenL is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
complicating-updating new box for client, electrician messed it up-pics included Kraze Electrical 29 11-18-2012 10:14 PM
How to find a good electrician farmerde Electrical 16 02-24-2009 10:46 AM
Can I pre-run romex before the electrician shows up? jheavner Electrical 14 10-10-2008 02:00 PM
help electrician failed to show.NEWB post gotsig Electrical 25 05-26-2008 10:28 PM
North Carolina Electrician assistance please buloni Electrical 2 12-03-2005 09:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts