Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-10-2009, 02:23 PM   #1

Share |

Electrical work in Branford, CT - Can I do it?

Hey guys. I have pulled a building permit to put a second floor addition. The permit states that I have to get separate inspections for Plumbing/Electrical/HVAC which I expected. Without calling Town Hall - does anyone know if in CT the owner can perform the electrical work themselves and get an inspection - or if the work has to be done by a licensed electrician.

I am a Building Controls Technician and operate under my employer's license when I do electrical work in NY, so I know to work according to code - I'm just unsure as to the laws in CT

ControlTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 02:26 PM   #2
Electrician

Quote:
Originally Posted by ControlTech View Post
Hey guys. I have pulled a building permit to put a second floor addition. The permit states that I have to get separate inspections for Plumbing/Electrical/HVAC which I expected. Without calling Town Hall - does anyone know if in CT the owner can perform the electrical work themselves and get an inspection - or if the work has to be done by a licensed electrician.

I am a Building Controls Technician and operate under my employer's license when I do electrical work in NY, so I know to work according to code - I'm just unsure as to the laws in CT

IS this a single family residence? Then yes, you can pull the electrical permit/ BUT... you or a family memeber MUST do the work, so dont get the permit then go hire some moonlighter to do the work.

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 03:50 PM   #3

Yes, it is a single family residence, and yes I would be doing the work myself.