Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-22-2011, 04:20 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

electrical wiring-multiple circuits on one neutral

I'm currently working on a small restaurant that my client has purchased and is making renovations on before he opens. The panel has 29 circuits that are being used (four of them are 220). There are 11 neutral (white) and five ground wires coming back into the panel. My experience has been mostly with residential wiring using romax cable. So unless it's a three wire circuit (12/3 cable, usually to a kitchen) I always have one neutral and one equipment grounding conductor for every hot. I know this it the way it should be, whether using romex or wiring inside conduit. I have brought this to the owners attention, answering his questions as best I can. The problem is that my knowledge is quite limited, as I am a plumber. That is how I came to the job originally. After I finished, the owner asked if I could do some light wiring ( a couple of new outlets, a dedicated circuit for a new freezer, and a three-way switch). I took it on as I had nothing else to do for a few days. So what has to be done to make this a safe situation? That is what the owner whats. I told him I would find out. Does every circuit need to have a neutral? (I'm not that worried about the grounds, as it is all in conduit). I know what the code says, but in this situation, with no inspection and limited time and money, what do I tell tell my client? How safe, or maybe how dangerous, is his wiring.
And let me apologize to you licensed electricians for taking this on. I do a lot of things these days that I would pass on in better times.

jimf1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 05:57 AM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.

Rewards Points: 2,032

Don't apologize to us, but there are MANY other safer things you could do to keep busy.