Electrical Wiring Ft. - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2012, 06:41 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Camden County, NJ
Posts: 149
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Electrical Wiring Ft.


I am re-wiring my house and am just wondering if there is any decent way to predict how much wiring will be used for my four square house. It is a two story house, about 1750 square feet. We are also adding tons (about 45) recessd lights and celing fans, etc, so an estimate on the high end is prob. appropriate. I have my circuits drawn out and everything, I am just hoping that someone here has a "technique" that they use for general estimates.

Thanks,

Tom

Advertisement

tjbingha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 06:46 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Electrical Wiring Ft.


Experience.
When I first started, I ran out of wire all the time.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (12-06-2012)
Old 12-06-2012, 06:48 PM   #3
Pure Genius
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dayton OH
Posts: 223
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Electrical Wiring Ft.


Figure what you need. Then add 30% Figure a foot at each junction.
Dierte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 06:51 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Camden County, NJ
Posts: 149
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Electrical Wiring Ft.


That is what I was afraid of...
tjbingha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 06:57 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Electrical Wiring Ft.


15, or 20 amp circuits?
Bathrooms, laundry rooms, and 2 kitchen circuit need to be 12 gauge and 20 amp circuits.
All other receptacle and lighting circuits can be 14 gauge.

Are you doing the wiring?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 06:58 PM   #6
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

Electrical Wiring Ft.


There is no way to predict how much wire you are going to use. That is why professionals walk in with spools of 1000' of each type of wire. Also by looking at blue prints, they can determine aprox. how much is going to be used, by knowing the length and height for the runs.

I have probably over 1500' of 10/2, 14/2, 14/3, 12/2, 12/3 in my place. And will still use another 500' to finish up what I am in the middle of doing for my ongoing re-wiring of my 75+ year old home.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 07:03 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Electrical Wiring Ft.


Quote:
Originally Posted by tjbingha View Post
I am re-wiring my house and am just wondering if there is any decent way to predict how much wiring will be used for my four square house. It is a two story house, about 1750 square feet. We are also adding tons (about 45) recessd lights and celing fans, etc, so an estimate on the high end is prob. appropriate. I have my circuits drawn out and everything, I am just hoping that someone here has a "technique" that they use for general estimates.

Thanks,

Tom
Can I ask why it matters?
If you get too much, return what you don't use.
If you don't get enough, buy more.

Do you live in the middle of nowhere or something?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 07:06 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,782
Rewards Points: 680
Default

Electrical Wiring Ft.


I always need 3 ft. more then I bought.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 07:18 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Camden County, NJ
Posts: 149
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Electrical Wiring Ft.


It matters b/c I get the wiring at cost and tax free in Delaware which is not close to me, so i want to be as accuracte as possible.
tjbingha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 07:53 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Electrical Wiring Ft.


Better to have too much that not enough and it never goes bad.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 08:00 PM   #11
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

Electrical Wiring Ft.


You can always store the remainder on a shelf for when you may need it sometime down the road. Wire does not go bad, as long as you keep it in a dry place like a basement or insulated garage. I remember walking into one of the fan rooms on board the ship I was on, and we probably had miles of various grades & types of wire that were just thrown on the floor.

If we ever took it to be recycled, vs tossing into a recycling dumpster that got placed on our pier, or tossed overboard, we could have walked away with some cash that could have been used for a good party for our shop.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 08:10 PM   #12
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Electrical Wiring Ft.


Only way to really figure it is to do a drawing. Don't forget to figure all of the vertical distances too.

Are you planning to do it up to current code?

Will it be inspected?


__________________
#1 - If you don't know what you're doing - get a licensed electrician!
#2 - If you follow my advice and something bad happens see # 1
Electricity bites hard, and it could be the last thing you feel... Good Luck!
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 08:17 PM   #13
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

Electrical Wiring Ft.


And of course the oh wholly AFCI. Found out that Leviton finally released their AFCI Receptacle outlets into the wild. Anyone want to venture the cost of them before clicking on the link? http://www.onestopbuy.com/mm/electri...cles-r1030.asp This is the only place that I have been able to find them, even though this is the response I got from an "application engineer" at Leviton:

" The AFCI’s have been released and can be purchased. The actual model number is AFTR1-00W (W for white, although other colors are available).
Please check with the local stores like HomeDepot and Loewe’s"


Miss Spellings left in place.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 08:24 PM   #14
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Electrical Wiring Ft.


They're gonna sell like beanie babies in the 80's for sure.
__________________
#1 - If you don't know what you're doing - get a licensed electrician!
#2 - If you follow my advice and something bad happens see # 1
Electricity bites hard, and it could be the last thing you feel... Good Luck!
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 08:25 PM   #15
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Electrical Wiring Ft.


Quote:
Originally Posted by TTW View Post
They're gonna sell like beanie babies in the 80's for sure.
Only for retrofit work. For new work they're still not complaint. Not unless you run MC or pipe to the first box.

Advertisement

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you work on electrical wiring stuffs when there is insulation in the attic? htabbas Electrical 19 01-08-2012 02:03 AM
Electrical wiring covered by ductwork ok? Ginny28 HVAC 5 01-04-2012 09:20 PM
Schedule 40 PVC in Chicago? franwalker Electrical 56 12-20-2011 11:04 PM
Electrical wiring! Kyle1971 Electrical 7 04-25-2011 05:53 PM
How can I tell if there is electrical wiring beneath kitchen tiles? Mr T Electrical 8 01-04-2009 05:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts